REPUBLIC RECORDS And BRUSHFIRE RECORDS Announce "The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty: Music From And Inspired By The Motion Picture" Soundtrack Out December 17th



Nov 13, 2013, 12:10 ET from Republic Records

NEW YORK, Nov. 13, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- REPUBLIC RECORDS and BRUSHFIRE RECORDS are proud to announce The Secret Life of Walter Mitty: Music From And Inspired By The Motion Picture soundtrack.

(Logo: )

The album will be available in stores and through all digital retailers December 17, 2013. Meanwhile, the film, starring Ben Stiller and Kristen Wiig, releases in theaters on Christmas day through 20th Century Fox.

The soundtrack has a personal touch from its stars: Ben Stiller curated the entire tracklist, becoming deeply involved in the making of the record. Moreover, this is the first time Kristen Wiig has ever performed on a soundtrack. She punctuates a David Bowie classic with her own flair on the "Space Oddity (Mitty Mix)"—a standout from the collection.

The soundtrack features a bevy of songs from the movie as well as some special new originals inspired by the story itself. Another centerpiece is Jose Gonzalez's emotional and enthralling "Stay Alive". Penned by Ryan Adams, it's as unique as it is unforgettable.

Elsewhere on the soundtrack, "Dirty Paws" is an artfully catchy staple from Icelandic alternative folk impresarios Of Monsters and Men, while Jack Johnson contributes his own fresh take on "Escape (The Pina Colada Song)" alongside cuts from Bahamas, Grace Mitchell, Junip, and more. The tracklisting captures the adventurous spirit of the movie with its own distinct charm.

This is the latest in a string of chart-topping soundtracks from REPUBLIC RECORDS such as releases for the likes of Les Miserables, Pitch Perfect, The Hunger Games, and AMC's The Walking Dead.

Embrace The Secret Life of Walter Mitty: Music From and Inspired By The Motion Picture soundtrack on December 17.

Ben Stiller directs and stars in The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, James Thurber's classic story of a day-dreamer who escapes his anonymous life by disappearing into a world of fantasies filled with heroism, romance and action. When his job along with that of his co-worker (Kristen Wiig) are threatened, Walter takes action in the real world embarking on a global journey that turns into an adventure more extraordinary than anything he could have ever imagined.

Pre order the soundtrack on Amazon

Purchase Jose Gonzalez's "STEP OUT" single now on iTunes


  1. Jose Gonzalez "Step Out"
  2. Of Monsters and Men "Dirty Paws"
  3. Jose Gonzalez "Stay Alive"
  4. Junip "Far Away"
  5. Junip "Don't Let It Pass"
  6. Rogue Wave "Lake Michigan
  7. Jack Johnson "Escape (The Pina Colada Song)"
  8. Bahamas featuring The Weather Station "Don't You Want Me"
  9. Rogue Valley "The Wolves & The Ravens"
  10. David Bowie "Space Oddity (Mitty Mix)" Featuring Kristen Wiig
  11. Jose Gonzalez "#9 Dream"
  12. Grace Mitchell "Maneater"

A division of Universal Music Group, the world's leading music company, Republic is home to an all-star roster of multi-platinum, award-winning legends and superstar artists such as Amy Winehouse, Ariana Grande, Black Sabbath, Colbie Caillat,  Enrique Iglesias, Florence + the Machine, Godsmack, Gotye, Kelly Rowland, Of Monsters and Men, Owl City, among many others.  

It is comprised of innovative imprints and digital business ventures including Brushfire (Jack Johnson, G. Love), Cash Money (Lil Wayne, Drake, Nicki Minaj), Lava Records (Jessie J, Lorde), Loma Vista (Soundgarden, Damian Marley), Monkeywrench (Pearl Jam), NBC's The Voice (Cassadee Pope, Danielle Bradbery), Republic Nashville (The Band Perry, Florida Georgia Line, The Eli Young Band), XO (The Weeknd), among others.  

Kimberly Harris

SOURCE Republic Records