Rutgers Hall of Distinguished Alumni Class of 2012 Announced

Jan 18, 2012, 12:00 ET from Rutgers University Alumni Association

NEW BRUNSWICK, N.J., Jan. 18, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Rutgers University Alumni Association announced the five outstanding alumni who will be inducted into the Rutgers Hall of Distinguished Alumni on May 5, 2012. The official announcement is viewable here. The 2012 inductees are:

  • Dennis M. Bone RBS'84: President of Verizon New Jersey, Bone started his telecommunications career in 1979 and is currently responsible for Verizon's corporate interests throughout the state. At the leadership helm since 2000, he has guided the company through progressive change, including the launch of a new fiber-optic network that revolutionized internet and TV service.
  • Flora D. Darpino CLAW'86: Darpino is the commander of the U.S. Army Legal Services Agency and the chief judge in the U.S. Army Court of Criminal Appeals. Commissioned to the Judge Advocate General's Corps in 1987, Darpino was promoted to brigadier general in 2011. She has been a tenacious leader in the Army's herculean Rule of Law efforts in Iraq, serving in combat and as the senior military attorney during the rebuilding efforts.
  • George C. Hill CCAS'61: Hill is an expert in the microbiology of infectious disease. A professor at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, Hill has conducted groundbreaking research to advance biomedical science worldwide, resulting in a broader understanding of the tsetse fly-transmitted "African sleeping sickness." A champion for diversity in medical education, Hill is also Vanderbilt's assistant vice chancellor for multicultural affairs.
  • Kathryn L. Holloway CCAS'80: As a neurosurgery pioneer, she was an integral leader in developing a new approach to deep brain stimulation, which treats Parkinson's disease and other movement disorders. Holloway is a professor at Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine and also the chief of neurosurgery at the Hunter Holmes McGuire V.A. Medical Center in Richmond.
  • David E. Schuller RC'66: Schuller is a renowned leader in treating cancers of the head and neck. He introduced a new therapy for the second most common malignancy in the world, doubling survival rates and changing the international standard of care. A longtime leader in cancer research at The Ohio State University, he is currently the vice president of medical center expansion.

This year marks the 25th anniversary of the Rutgers Hall of Distinguished Alumni. Just over 200 Rutgers graduates have ever been inducted. Notable members include chef and restaurateur Mario Batali, actor James Gandolfini, author Janet Evanovich, NBC news anchor Natalie Morales, the late actor and humanitarian Paul Robeson, Nobel Prize winners Selman Waksman and Milton Friedman, and five former NJ governors.

The 25th Anniversary Rutgers Hall of Distinguished Alumni Awards Gala will be held on May 5, 2012, at The Heldrich in New Brunswick. James Cusumano RC'64, GSNB'68 will be master of ceremonies. Cusumano is chairman of Chateau Mcely, a renovated castle near Prague, and a 2011 inductee to the Hall of Distinguished Alumni.

Tickets to the gala dinner and awards ceremony are $125 per person.  More information on the event and the inductees can be found at

Alyse Mattioli

SOURCE Rutgers University Alumni Association