The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Announces Appointments to the Montana State Advisory Committee

Mar 28, 2011, 06:00 ET from U.S. Commission on Civil Rights

WASHINGTON, March 28, 2011 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights appointed 14 Montana citizens on March 11, 2011 to its Montana State Advisory Committee.

Kimberly Tolhurst, Delegated the Authority of the Staff Director of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, announced the appointment of Doug L. Betters of Whitefish, Jean Bearcrane of Billings, Norma Bixby of Lame Deer, Timothy C. Fox of Helena, Linda S. Frey of Billings, Carl R. Graham of Bozeman, Joan Hoff of Big Sky, Gwendolyn McNeal Kircher of Billings, Nancy J. Knauff of Great Falls, Marilyn M. Kramer of Billings, David A. Lopez of Billings, David S. Morales of Billings, Denise L. Rogers of Bozeman, and Edward S. Stafman of Bozeman. Commissioners appointed Norma Bixby of Lame Deer as Chair.  Members serve without compensation, and the appointments are for two years.

Congress has directed the Commission to establish state advisory committees (SACs) in all 50 states and the District of Columbia to study issues and forward advisory reports to the Commission on matters within the agency's jurisdiction that reflect the views of the majority of SAC members producing the report.

The SACs' reports to the Commission are wholly independent, and reviewed by Commission staff only for legal and procedural compliance with Commission policies and procedures. SAC reports are not subject to Commission approval, fact-checking or policy changes.  

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement. Members include Chairman Martin Castro and Commissioners Roberta Achtenberg, Todd Gaziano, Gail Heriot, Peter Kirsanow, Abigail Thernstrom, and Dina Titus. Commission meetings are open to the general public. The Commission's website is

Lenore Ostrowsky
Acting Chief, Public Affairs Unit
(202) 376-8591

SOURCE U.S. Commission on Civil Rights