The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Announces Appointments to the North Dakota State Advisory Committee

Mar 28, 2011, 06:00 ET from U.S. Commission on Civil Rights

WASHINGTON, March 28, 2011 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights appointed 13 North Dakota citizens on March 11, 2011 to its North Dakota State Advisory Committee.

Kimberly Tolhurst, Delegated the Authority of the Staff Director of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, announced the appointment of Cheryl Bergian of Fargo, Marc S. Bluestone of New Town, Dawn Marie Charging of Garrison, Crystal Dueker of Fargo, Thomas D. Fiebiger of Fargo, Carol E. Good Bear of New Town, Robert S. Herren of Fargo, Cheryl A. Long Feather of Bismarck, David A. Meier of Dickinson, Constance L. Nelson of Fargo, Refugio Padilla of Devils Lake, Jordan T. Schuetzle of Grand Forks, and Stephanie A. Weis of Grand Forks. Commissioners appointed Dawn Marie Charging of Garrison as Chair.

Congress has directed the Commission to establish state advisory committees (SACs) in all 50 states and the District of Columbia to study issues and forward advisory reports to the Commission on matters within the agency's jurisdiction that reflect the views of the majority of SAC members producing the report.

The SACs' reports to the Commission are wholly independent, and reviewed by Commission staff only for legal and procedural compliance with Commission policies and procedures. SAC reports are not subject to Commission approval, fact-checking or policy changes.  

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement. Members include Chairman Martin Castro and Commissioners Roberta Achtenberg, Todd Gaziano, Gail Heriot, Peter Kirsanow, Abigail Thernstrom, and Dina Titus. Commission meetings are open to the general public. The Commission's website is

Lenore Ostrowsky
Acting Chief, Public Affairs Unit
(202) 376-8591

SOURCE U.S. Commission on Civil Rights