The U.S. Conference of Mayors Brings Sequestration Fight To Capitol Hill

Feb 26, 2013, 11:13 ET from The U.S. Conference of Mayors

During Leadership Meeting: Mayors to Meet with Senate & Congressional Members, Explain Local Impact of Across-the-Board Cuts, Discuss Gun Safety & Immigration Reform

WASHINGTON, Feb. 26, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- During a leadership meeting of The U.S. Conference of Mayors, President Philadelphia Mayor Michael A. Nutter, and Vice President Mesa (AZ) Mayor Scott Smith, will lead a delegation of bipartisan mayors from across the country in Washington, D.C. on Thursday, February 28th – Friday, March 1. The purpose of the gathering is for mayors to meet with Senate and Congressional leaders to express the organization's strong opposition to sequestration cuts. 


Mayors will meet with lawmakers to explain the devastating impact that sequestration cuts would have on local communities and their residents.  Local leaders will also gather during the two-day meeting to discuss the long overdue need for comprehensive immigration reform and gun safety. Cities and their suburbs represent nearly 90 percent of the nation's wage and salary income, which drive the national economy.

WHO:  Philadelphia (PA) Mayor Michael Nutter, USCM President; Mesa (AZ) Mayor Scott Smith, USCM Vice President; and approximately 30 other mayors from across the nation including:

Rochester Hills (MI) Mayor Bryan Barnett, Salt Lake City (UT) Mayor Ralph Becker, Columbia (SC) Mayor Stephen Benjamin, Chicopee (MA) Mayor Michael Bissonnette, Elizabeth (NJ) Mayor Christian Bollwage, Arlington (TX) Mayor Robert Cluck, Columbus (OH) Mayor Michael B. Coleman, Hallandale Beach (FL) Mayor Joy Cooper, Oklahoma City (OK) Mayor Mick Cornett, Des Moines (IA) Mayor Franklin Cownie, Racine (WI) Mayor John Dickert, Louisville (KY) Mayor Greg Fischer, Charlotte (NC) Mayor Anthony Foxx, Washington (DC) Mayor Vincent Gray, Burnsville (MN) Mayor Elizabeth Kautz, New Orleans (LA) Mayor Mitchell Landrieu, Chattanooga (TN) Mayor Ron Littlefield, Tallahassee (FL) Mayor John Marks, Sumter (SC) Mayor Joe McElveen, Clarksville (TN) Mayor Kim McMillan, Las Cruces (NM) Mayor Ken Miyagishima, Miramar (FL) Mayor Lori Moseley, Allentown (PA) Mayor Ed Pawlowski, Oak Park (IL) Mayor David Pope, Baltimore Mayor Stephanie Rawlings-Blake, Madison (WI) Mayor Paul Soglin, Little Rock (AR) Mayor Mark Stodola, Irving (TX) Mayor Beth Van Duyne, Piscataway (NJ) Mayor Brian C. Wahler, and Newton (MA) Mayor Setti Warren.

WHAT:  Meetings with Senate & Congressional leaders to express opposition to Sequestration cuts that will deeply impact cities. Gun safety and immigration reform also to be discussed.

WHEN:   Thursday, February 28Friday, March 1, 2013

WHERE:  Capitol Hill -- Mayors are AVAILABLE for interviews upon request.

The U.S. Conference of Mayors is the official nonpartisan organization of cities with populations of 30,000 or more. There are 1,295 such cities in the country today, and each city is represented in the Conference by its chief elected official, the mayor. Like us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter at

SOURCE The U.S. Conference of Mayors