Two Honored with SAE International Trevor O. Jones Award

Oct 18, 2012, 10:09 ET from SAE International

WARRENDALE, Pa., Oct. 18, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- SAE International presented two engineering professionals with the Trevor O. Jones Outstanding Paper Award during the Banquet at SAE Convergence 2012 at Cobo Center in Detroit.

The winners were Matthew Smith of Navistar Inc., and Monika Manarcin of Palladium Energy. The duo won the Jones Award for their paper, Challenges and Opportunities in Adoption of Hybrid Technologies in Medium and Heavy Duty Applications 2012 Update (2012-01-9005)

The Trevor O. Jones Outstanding Paper Award originated in 1974 and is supported by an endowment established by Trevor O. Jones, Siemens Automotive, Ford Motor Company and ITT Automotive. The winners receive a medal, plaque and $10,000. The Eaton Corporation provides funding for the medals.

The award recognizes Trevor O. Jones as the founder of the Convergence conference series and his contributions to the field of transportation electronics.

SAE Convergence is a biennial, international transportation electronics conference. The conference is a unique event that brings together world leaders in the transportation and electronics industries. Recognizing the growth in vehicle electronics for control, communication, safety and mobility, SAE Convergence covers these aspects for passenger cars, trucks and commercial vehicles with continuing international emphasis.

SAE International is a global association of more than 133,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. SAE International's core competencies are life-long learning and voluntary consensus standards development. SAE International's charitable arm is the SAE Foundation, which supports many programs, including A World In Motion® and the Collegiate Design Series™.

- -

Contact: Shawn Andreassi of SAE International, 1-724-772-8522 or

SOURCE SAE International