U.S. Civil Rights Commission Announces Appointments to the Maryland State Advisory Committee

Dec 17, 2010, 17:14 ET from U.S. Commission on Civil Rights

WASHINGTON, Dec. 17, 2010 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights has announced the appointment of 18 Maryland citizens to its Maryland State Advisory Committee.  

The Commission appointed Nicolee W. Ambrose of Baltimore City, Jan I. Berlage of Monkton, Leonard L. Haynes of Silver Spring, Michael I. Krauss of North Potomac, George R. LaNoue of Baltimore, Sock-Foon C. MacDougall of Lanham, Thomas M. Mackall of Bethesda, Ken Masugi of Montgomery Village, Pace J. McConkie of Annapolis, Grace Gonzales Mooney of Frederick, Susannah Prucka of Baltimore, Paul M. Rensted of Tracy's Landing, Tiffany Robinson of Havre de Grace, Gary D. Rodwell of Baltimore, Genevieve Segura of Annapolis, Arnold Trebach of Chevy Chase, and Eric C. Washington of Baltimore.  Commissioners appointed Thomas Mackall as chairman. Members serve without compensation, and the appointments are for two years.

Congress has directed the Commission to establish state advisory committees (SACs) in all 50 states and the District of Columbia to study issues and forward advisory reports to the Commission on matters within the agency's jurisdiction that reflect the views of the majority of SAC members producing the report.

The SACs' reports to the Commission are wholly independent, and reviewed by Commission staff only for legal and procedural compliance with Commission policies and procedures. SAC reports are not subject to Commission approval, fact-checking or policy changes.  

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement. Members include Chairman Gerald A. Reynolds, Vice Chair Abigail Thernstrom, Commissioners Todd Gaziano, Gail Heriot, Peter N. Kirsanow, Arlan D. Melendez, Ashley L. Taylor, Jr., and Michael Yaki. Martin Dannenfelser is the Staff Director. Commission meetings are open to the general public. The Commission's website is http://www.usccr.gov.


Lenore Ostrowsky

Acting Chief, Public Affairs Unit


SOURCE U.S. Commission on Civil Rights