U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Announces Appointments to the Arkansas State Advisory Committee

Oct 13, 2010, 18:43 ET from U.S. Commission on Civil Rights

WASHINGTON, Oct. 13 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights has announced the appointment of 12 Arkansas citizens to its Arkansas State Advisory Committee.  The Commission appointed Melissa Duke, Esq., Julie Greathouse, Esq., Dr. Andre Guerrero, Rose Jones, Gregory Kaza, Ranko Shiraki Oliver, Esq., and Brian Vandiver, Esq. of Little Rock; Joseph Horton of Conway; and Gary M. McHenry, Dr. Adam Arroyos, Dr. Robert Maranto and Dr. Gary Ritter of Fayetteville. The Commission appointed Gary M. McHenry as chairman.  The appointments are for two years.

Congress has directed the Commission to establish state advisory committees (SACs) in all 50 states and the District of Columbia to study issues and forward advisory reports to the Commission on matters within the agency's jurisdiction that reflect the views of the majority of SAC members producing the report.

The SACs' reports to the Commission are wholly independent, and reviewed by Commission staff only for legal and procedural compliance with Commission policies and procedures. SAC reports are not subject to Commission approval, fact-checking or policy changes.  

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement.  Members include Chairman Gerald A. Reynolds, Vice Chair Abigail Thernstrom, and Commissioners Todd F. Gaziano, Gail Heriot, Peter N. Kirsanow, Arlan D. Melendez, Ashley L. Taylor, Jr., and Michael Yaki.  Martin Dannenfelser is the staff director.  Commission meetings are open to the general public and the media.  The Commission's website is http://www.usccr.gov.


Lenore Ostrowsky,

Acting Chief, Public Affairs Unit

(202) 376-8591

SOURCE U.S. Commission on Civil Rights