U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Announces Appointments to the Colorado State Advisory Committee

Jun 18, 2010, 14:22 ET from U.S. Commission on Civil Rights

WASHINGTON, June 18 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights has appointed 11 people to the Colorado State Advisory Committee.

Martin Dannenfelser, Staff Director of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, announced the appointment of Vernard T. Gant of Colorado Springs, Mary A. Celeste of Denver, Kyle R. Conrad of Loveland, Jessica P. Corry of Denver, John C. Cruzat, Jr. of Colorado Springs, Barry S. Fagin of Colorado Springs, Krista L. Kafer of Littleton, Elizabeth Espinosa Krupa of Evergreen, Valery J. Pech Orr of Westminster, Jerry D. Otero of Fruita and William P. Pendley of Lakewood. Commissioners appointed Vernard T. Gant of Colorado Springs as chairman. The appointments are for two years.

Congress has directed the Commission to establish advisory committees in all 50 states and the District of Columbia to study issues and forward advisory reports to the Commission on matters within the agency's jurisdiction that reflect the views of the majority of SAC members producing the report.

The SACs' reports to the Commission are wholly independent, and are reviewed by Commission staff only for legal and procedural compliance with Commission policies and procedures. SAC reports are not subject to Commission approval, fact-checking or policy changes.  

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement.  Members include Chairman Gerald A. Reynolds, Vice Chair Abigail Thernstrom, and Commissioners Todd F. Gaziano, Gail Heriot, Peter N. Kirsanow, Arlan D. Melendez, Ashley L. Taylor, Jr., and Michael Yaki.  Martin Dannenfelser is the staff director.  Commission meetings are open to the media and general public.  The Commission's website is http://www.usccr.gov.

SOURCE U.S. Commission on Civil Rights