U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Appoints Maryland State Advisory Committee Members

Dec 04, 2015, 16:14 ET from U.S. Commission on Civil Rights

WASHINGTON, Dec. 4, 2015 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights announced today the appointment of 16 members to the Maryland State Advisory Committee.

The Commission appointed:

  • Thomas Mackall, Chairman, of Bethesda
  • George LaNoue of Baltimore 
  • Pace McConkie of Baltimore
  • Susannah Prucka of Baltimore
  • Genevieve Segura of Annapolis
  • Leonard Addison of Kingsville 
  • Pamela Bennett of Baltimore
  • Pharm Chaudry of Laurel 
  • Gregory Dolin of Baltimore
  • Ernie Dominguez of Baltimore
  • Walter Howell, Jr. of Landover Hills
  • Tara Huffman of Baltimore
  • Evelyn Kelly of Hyattsville
  • David Kim of Bethesda
  • Jennifer Mathis of Takoma Park
  • Doris Cowl of Timonium

State advisory committees produce reports and recommendations concerning statewide or local civil rights issues, including justice, voting, discrimination, housing and education. Congress mandates the appointment of members to state advisory committees in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Appointees to the federal State Advisory Committees serve two-year terms and are unremunerated.

U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Chair Martin R. Castro added, "Our State Advisory Committees perform vital work, acting as civil rights watch-dogs in our communities and from our communities.  We could not perform our work at the national level without the thoughtful input of these volunteer SAC members and we thank them for their service."

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with advising the President and Congress on civil rights matters, studying civil rights issues, and issuing a federal civil rights enforcement report. For information about Commission's reports and meetings, visit http://www.usccr.gov.

Media contact: Ivy Davis
Director, Eastern Regional Office
(202) 376-7533

Logo - http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20110524/DC08224LOGO


SOURCE U.S. Commission on Civil Rights