Warner Bros.' The Dark Knight Rises Generates Opening Weekend Box Office Results Of $23.8 Million In IMAX® Theatres Worldwide

Film Grosses $19 Million in IMAX Theatres Domestically

Jul 23, 2012, 20:01 ET from IMAX Corporation

LOS ANGELES, July 23, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- IMAX Corporation (NYSE: IMAX; TSX:IMX) and Warner Bros. Pictures today announced that The Dark Knight Rises (Rated PG-13) has generated approximately $23.8 million in 396 IMAX® theatres worldwide, resulting in a global IMAX per-screen average of approximately $60,100.

(Logo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20111107/MM01969LOGO )

Domestically, the film grossed $160.887 million, of which approximately $19 million was generated in 332 IMAX® theaters for an IMAX per-screen average of $57,200

Internationally, the film earned approximately $4.8 million in 64 IMAX theatres for an IMAX per-screen average of $75,000, with an additional 89 IMAX theatres set to begin opening this week.

For additional information please contact:

Business Media:

IMAX Corporation – New York

Ann Sommerlath

212-821-0155

asommerlath@imax.com

 

Sloane & Company – New York

Whit Clay

212-446-1864

wclay@sloanepr.com

 

 

 

Investors:

IMAX Corporation – New York

Heather Anthony

212-821-0121

hanthony@imax.com

 

Entertainment Media:

IMAX Corporation – Los Angeles

Christine Tasto

310-255-5547

ctasto@imax.com

 

Principal Communications Group – Los Angeles

Melissa Zuckerman/Paul Pflug

323-658-1555

melissa@pcommgroup.com

paul@pcommgroup.com

 

SOURCE IMAX Corporation



RELATED LINKS

http://www.imax.com