WXYZ-TV Named Station of the Year by MAB!

Michigan Association of Broadcasters honors WXYZ with six Best of Show and five Merit Awards

Mar 10, 2011, 14:44 ET from WXYZ-TV

SOUTHFIELD, Mich., March 10, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- WXYZ-TV was named Station of the Year once again by the Michigan Association of Broadcasters at the annual "Excellence in Broadcasting" awards held Wednesday night in Lansing.  WXYZ received top honors for:

Best Newscast

Community Involvement - Making a Difference

Best Weather - Sean Ash

Best News Reporter - Heather Catallo

Best Photojournalist - John Ciolino

Best Commercial - Lucido Fine Jewelry

WXYZ-TV also received merit awards for:

Breaking News Story - "Kwame Kilpatrick Sentenced"

Investigative Story - "Smash and Grab"

Special Interest Programming - "Ford Freedom Award"

Commercial - "Hunter Pasteur Homes"

Photojournalist - Johnny Sartin

"We are honored to be recognized by the MAB for excellence in broadcast journalism," said WXYZ vice-president and general manager Ed Fernandez.  "It's a testament to the hard work and dedication of our entire Channel 7 team who are so deserving of this prestigious award."

Station of the year awards were presented by MAB President Karole White and Chairman Mike King, and were awarded by market size. WXYZ received the award in the Market1 Division against all other stations in the Detroit market.  Channel 7 received three of the top five "best in category" awards.

WXYZ-TV is part of Scripps Media, Inc, which operates ten television stations.  The corporate parent, The E.W. Scripps Company (NYSE:  SSP) is a diverse, 131-year-old media enterprise with interests in television stations, newspapers, local news and information Web sites, and comics/features syndication.  For a full listing of Scripps media companies and their associated Web sites, visit http://www.scripps.com/.