2010 Short Film Contest Finalists Announced

Jun 08, 2010, 21:00 ET from The Doorpost Film Project

NASHVILLE, Tenn., June 8 /PRNewswire/ -- The Doorpost Film Project is excited to announce the Top 5 Finalists for its 2010 Short Film Contest. This begins Round 3 of the contest for Dave de Vos, Brandon McCormick, Maziar Lahooti, Bradley Jackson, and Zach Hines. Each of these filmmakers will be given a chance to win up to $100,000 by producing a short film based on the script they created in Round 2 of the contest.

The awards will be given on November 12-13, 2010 at the 3rd Annual Doorpost Film Project Awards Ceremony in Nashville, TN. First, second and third place prizes for the contest will be awarded in the amounts of $100,000, $30,000 and $10,000 respectively. An Audience Choice Award of $10,000 will be given to the filmmaker who receives the popular vote from viewers at www.thedoorpost.com.

The 5 finalists are currently two months into a mentorship process introduced this year to coincide with the contest. The mentorship process is one of the most unique and exciting opportunities that The Doorpost Film Project offers to filmmakers. During the mentorship process, film industry professionals meet regularly with aspiring filmmakers to guide them in writing their scripts and coach them in the filmmaking process.

The Doorpost Film Project exists to encourage truth-seeking visionaries by honoring their creativity as filmmakers, serving them in the context of building community and sharing their discoveries with the world so that others may have hope.

To watch any of the nearly 500 short films online, please visit www.thedoorpost.com.

SOURCE The Doorpost Film Project