2011 Carnegie Science Awardees Announced

Feb 03, 2011, 12:01 ET from Carnegie Science Center

PITTSBURGH, Feb. 3, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- Today Carnegie Science Center announced the winners of its 2011 Carnegie Science Awards, sponsored by Eaton Corporation.

Carnegie Science Center established the Carnegie Science Awards program in 1997 to recognize and promote outstanding science and technology achievements in western Pennsylvania. Celebrating its 15th year, the Carnegie Science Awards have honored the accomplishments of more than 275 individuals and organizations that have improved lives through their commitment and contributions in science and technology.

"We are proud to be associated with a program that recognizes the revolutionary technology and advances in science-related industries throughout our region," said Jerry Whitaker, president of the Americas for Eaton Corporation's Electrical Sector. "These individuals and corporations have an impact that expands into the global marketplace."

"The Carnegie Science Awards program helps fund Science Center exhibits and educational programs that reach thousands of young people to broaden their perspective about careers in the fields of science and technology," said Ron Baillie, Henry Buhl, Jr. Co-Director of Carnegie Science Center. "Through our Science Connections mentoring program, many of the awards recipients engage our youth in the real-world application of the sciences. Our region and the nation, depend on a science-savvy workforce to secure our place in the future, and that's why Carnegie Science Center is committed to STEM education."

"Our honorees are extraordinary researchers, educators, and entrepreneurs who have achieved amazing success in their respective industries," said Ann Metzger, Henry Buhl, Jr. Co-Director of Carnegie Science Center. "Their achievements are a testimony not only to their dedication and perseverance, but also to the commitment and drive of our region." 

Awardees will be honored during a formal celebration at Carnegie Music Hall on May 6, 2011. Keynote speaker for the ceremony is Anousheh Ansari, co-founder and chairman of Prodea Systems and the first female private space explorer and first space ambassador.

2011 Carnegie Science Award recipients include:

Chairman's Award

Allegheny Technologies Incorporated

Advanced Manufacturing Award

Beyond Blast from Kennametal Inc.

Advanced Materials Award

Alan Russell, PhD, Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, PhD, and team

McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine

Analysis & Reporting Award

Reid Frazier

Catalyst Award

Marc Malandro, PhD

University of Pittsburgh

Corporate Innovation Award

Plextronics, Inc.

Middle Level Educator Award

Richard Gebrosky

North Allegheny School District

High School Educator Award

Elaine Custer

Karns City Area School District

School District Award

Avella Area School District

University / Post-Secondary Educator Award

Thad Zaleskiewicz, PhD

University of Pittsburgh Greensburg

*Catalyst for Education Award*


*Special Recognition in Science Education*

John Pollock, PhD

Duquesne University

University/Post-Secondary Student Award

Vineet Agrawal

McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine

Emerging Female Scientist Award

Sara Majetich, PhD

Carnegie Mellon University

Start-Up Entrepreneur Award

Jeff Mullen, MBA, JD

Dynamics Inc.

Entrepreneur Award

Michael Finke


Environmental Award

Karen Foltz

Vox Energy Solutions

Information Technology Award

Raj Rajkumar, PhD

Carnegie Mellon University

Life Sciences Award

Massimo Trucco, MD

University of Pittsburgh/Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC

*New Award for 2011*

2011 Carnegie Science Award Honorable Mentions include:

Catalyst Award

Illah Nourbakhsh, PhD

Carnegie Mellon University

University / Post Secondary Educator Award

Melissa Bilec, PhD and Amy Landis, PhD

University of Pittsburgh

University/Post-Secondary Student Award Honorable Mention

Southwest PA Chapter of the American Meteorological Society at Cal U

Start-Up Entrepreneur Award

Nick Kuhn, MBA

ALung Technologies

Emerging Female Scientist Award

Mary Koes

Thorley Industries

Entrepreneur Award Honorable Mention

Henry Thorne

Thorley Industries

Environmental Award

Gregory Lowry, PhD

Carnegie Mellon University

About Carnegie Science Center

Carnegie Science Center is dedicated to inspiring learning and curiosity by connecting science and technology with everyday life. By making science both relevant and fun, the Science Center's goal is to increase science literacy in the region to motivate young people to seek careers in science and technology. One of the four Carnegie Museums of Pittsburgh, the Science Center is Pittsburgh's premier science exploration destination, reaching more than 700,000 people annually through its hands-on exhibits, camps, classes, and off-site education programs. For more information, visit www.carnegiesciencecenter.org.

About Eaton Corporation

Eaton Corporation is a diversified power management company with 2010 sales of $13.7 billion. Celebrating its 100th anniversary in 2011, Eaton is a global technology leader in electrical components and systems for power quality, distribution and control; hydraulics components, systems and services for industrial and mobile equipment; aerospace fuel, hydraulics and pneumatic systems for commercial and military use; and truck and automotive drivetrain and powertrain systems for performance, fuel economy and safety. Eaton has approximately 70,000 employees and sells products to customers in more than 150 countries. For more information, visit www.eaton.com.

SOURCE Carnegie Science Center