2011 College Basketball Awards Slated for Presentation During Upcoming NCAA Final Four in Houston

Presentations to be made at April 1 breakfast celebration

Mar 07, 2011, 10:56 ET from United States Basketball Writers Association

HOUSTON, March 7, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- The United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) (sportswriters.net) has announced that its annual basketball awards will be presented at an 8 a.m. breakfast celebration on Friday, April 1, at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston, Texas.

The event, to be held the morning before the national semifinals of the NCAA Final Four, will be co-hosted by the University of Houston Lettermen's "H" Association (uhletterwinners.com) and sponsored by Houston-based Champion Energy Services (championenergyservices.com). Topper Media Marketing (toppermediamarketing.com) was instrumental in partnering USBWA and the "H" Association with Champion Energy Services as the event sponsor.  

At the breakfast celebration, the USBWA will present the Oscar Robertson Player of the Year Trophy and the Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award. Collegiate player Arsalan Kazemi of Rice University will be presented the Most Courageous Award, and the "Good Guy" Award will honor a media friendly coach, yet to be named, for his contributions to college basketball.

The 2011 College Basketball Awards is expected to draw a crowd of nearly 1,000 players, coaches, sports writers and sports enthusiasts. Also in attendance will be former members of the University of Houston Cougars 1982 to 1984 basketball teams for a special tribute to Phi Slama Jama, nicknamed for being "Texas's Tallest Fraternity" that played a wildly exciting playground-influenced style of hoops.

A sell-out since its inception in 2005, event tickets for the breakfast and awards presentation are $75 each and available on-line at usbwa.com and uhletterwinners.com.

SOURCE United States Basketball Writers Association