2011 Paul 'Bear' Bryant Watch List Released for College Coach of the Year

Oct 29, 2010, 11:37 ET from American Heart Association Houston Division

HOUSTON, Oct. 29 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Paul "Bear" Bryant Awards committee of the American Heart Association selected its Bryant Watch List for the 2011 College Football Coach of the Year. The selection committee consists of current and past event chairmen, Bryant family representatives, Houston sports analysts, and former collegiate players and coaches.

(Logo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20101025/AHABEARLOGO)

(Logo: http://www.newscom.com/cgi-bin/prnh/20101025/AHABEARLOGO)

In December, a finalists' list will be announced and comprised of five to ten coaches. Finalists will attend an awards dinner on Jan. 18, 2011 in Houston, Texas, where the winner will be announced live. The Paul "Bear" Bryant College Coach of the Year is the only college coaching award given after all the bowl games are concluded.

January's event will also recognize former Florida State Seminoles Football Coach Bobby Bowden, who will receive the Bryant Lifetime Achievement Award. The award recognizes excellence in coaching on and off the field during a career, allowing recipients to take their place in history alongside legends such as Paul "Bear" Bryant.  Recent Lifetime Achievement recipients include Vince Dooley, Barry Switzer, Tom Osborne, and Glenn "Bo" Schembechler.

Bryant College Coach of the Year Watch List in alphabetical order by coach:

  • Bret BielemaUniversity of Wisconsin
  • Gene ChizikAuburn University
  • Mark DantonioMichigan State University
  • Kirk FerentzUniversity of Iowa
  • Jimbo FisherFlorida State University
  • Mike GundyOklahoma State University
  • Jim HarbaughStanford University
  • Chip KellyUniversity of Oregon
  • Les MilesLouisiana State University
  • Dan MullenMississippi State University
  • Gary Patterson  - Texas Christian University
  • Bo PeliniUniversity of Nebraska
  • Chris PetersenBoise State University
  • Gary PinkelUniversity of Missouri
  • Nick SabanUniversity of Alabama
  • Bill SnyderKansas State University
  • Bob StoopsUniversity of Oklahoma
  • Mike StoopsUniversity of Arizona
  • Jim TresselOhio State University
  • Kyle WhittinghamUniversity of Utah

The Bryant Awards honor excellence in coaching while raising funds to fight heart disease and stroke, the nation's No. 1 and No. 3 killers. Bryant himself suffered a heart attack prior to his death in 1983. Funds raised benefit research, community education and outreach programs of the AHA. For more information, or to purchase tickets or a table for the event, contact Kristin Rodriguez at 713-610-5026 or visit www.bryantawards.com

Media Contact: Shelly M. White, American Heart Association

(713) 610-5041 or shelly.white@heart.org

SOURCE American Heart Association Houston Division