2013 California State Science Fair Winners Announced

Apr 19, 2013, 13:39 ET from California Science Center

Students, Parents and Teachers Gather to Hear the Results

LOS ANGELES, April 19, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Winners of the 2013 California State Science Fair were announced during ceremonies that took place April 16, 2013 at the California Science Center.  This year's fair drew 1,037 students from 30 regions/counties statewide, with finalists selected by a volunteer pool of scientists and engineers from private industry and higher education.  Students took home a combined total of over $50,000 in cash prizes.

The presenting sponsors for the 2013 event were Northrop Grumman Corporation and Chevron Corporation, with additional support from THE MUSES of the California Science Center Foundation, The Ralph M. Parsons Foundation, and Gilead Sciences, Inc.

Top Awards

Eesha Khare, a 12th grade student from Lynbrook High School, San Jose (Santa Clara County), was selected for the Project of the Year—Senior Division Award and received a $5,000 cash prize.  Her project was titled "Design and Synthesis of Hydrogenated TiO2-Polyaniline Nanorods for Flexible High-Performance Supercapacitors"; and Eitan S. Acks, an 8th grade student from San Diego Jewish Academy, San Diego (San Diego County), was chosen for the Project of the Year—Junior Division Award and received a $2,500 cash prize.  His project was titled "Tongue Untwister." Two special committees, one for each division, reviewed all first place, winning projects from every subject category in order to select the best project in each division.  

Alexander L. Chen, a senior at Palos Verdes Peninsula High School, Rolling Hills Estates (Los Angeles County) was named California State Science Fair Student of the Year and was presented with a $1,000 cash prize.  The project entry was titled "A Foldable Solar Panel with an Improved Hill Climbing MPPT Circuit."  This award is presented to the high school senior who, in the opinion of the judges, best exemplifies the qualities necessary for success in science.

Michael Antrim, a teacher at Woodbridge High School in Irvine (Orange County) was named California State Science Fair Teacher of the Year—Senior Division and Nicole Shimshock, a teacher at St. Charles School in San Carlos (San Mateo County) was named California State Science Fair Teacher of the Year—Junior Division. Each received a $2,000 cash prize.

Jeffrey N. Rudolph, President and CEO of the California Science Center commented, "So much of the study of science is spent memorizing facts, which is not fun. When students can experiment and explore by creating their own projects, they're doing what science is all about and they love it."  The Science Center's involvement with the annual event dates back more than 50 years and is in keeping with its efforts to stimulate and nurture public interest in science, math and technology.

In addition to the top awards, 291 students placed 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th and Honorable Mention in the Category Awards.  A complete list of Category Award winners as well as information on recipients of Special and Recognition awards can be viewed at www.californiasciencecenter.org/CSSF/.  

California Science Center is located at 700 Exposition Park Drive, Los Angeles.  Open daily from 10am to 5 pm, except Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day.  Admission to the exhibits is free. Timed tickets are required for the Space Shuttle Endeavour exhibition and may be obtained online for $2. IMAX Theater tickets range from $5.00 to $8.25.  Both the Science Center and IMAX Theater are wheelchair accessible.  Visitors can enter the parking lot at 39th/Exposition Park Drive and Figueroa Street.  Parking is $10/car.  For general information, phone (323) SCIENCE or visit www.californiasciencecenter.org.

Media Contact:

Paula Wagner | pwagner@cscmail.org
(213) 744-2144

SOURCE California Science Center