2015 AutoNation FWAA All-America Team Unveiled

Dec 14, 2015, 14:00 ET from Football Writers Association of America

DALLAS, Dec. 14, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- (FWAA) – The 2015 AutoNation FWAA All-America Team was announced on Monday by the Football Writers Association of America. The 26-man first team is led by the Southeastern Conference with seven selections. Alabama running back Derrick Henry, the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award, Walter Camp Award and Doak Walker Award winner, is one of four players from the second-ranked Crimson Tide on the first team and leads a parade of 24 players from the Power Five conferences.

This season, AutoNation is the title sponsor of the FWAA team, in conjunction with its season-long presentation of weekly FWAA national players and teams of the week, for which it made donations to the Breast Cancer Research Foundation in each recipient's name. For the fourth straight season, the announcement of the team, the second-longest continuously-published team in major college football, will be featured on SiriusXM Radio's "College Football Nation." A two-hour special hosted by Mark Packer and Matt Leinart airs today at 5 p.m. ET.

Also representing the 2015 AutoNation FWAA All-America Team from Alabama, which is in the College Football Playoff at the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic, are defensive lineman and Outland Trophy finalist A'Shawn Robinson, linebacker Reggie Ragland and center Ryan Kelly, the Rimington Trophy winner. Tide defensive back Eddie Jackson was selected to the second team.

There are two repeat first-team selections from the 2014 FWAA team: Baylor offensive tackle Spencer Drango, an Outland Trophy finalist, and Utah punter Tom Hackett, the Ray Guy Award winner for a second straight season. Three other teams – top-ranked Clemson, Baylor and Rose Bowl-bound Stanford – had two players each on the first team.

Stanford's twosome on the first team are Outland-winning guard Joshua Garnett and sophomore kick returner Christian McCaffrey, a Heisman finalist. Baylor's other first-team pick was wide receiver Corey Coleman, the Biletnikoff Award winner. Clemson's teammates include defensive end Shaq Lawson and quarterback Deshaun Watson, the Davey O'Brien Award winner and a Heisman finalist who will lead the No. 1 Tigers against No. 4 Oklahoma in the Capital One Orange Bowl.

For the complete release of the first and second teams, a list of the all-time FWAA All-Americans dating back to 1944 and to download the AutoNation FWAA All-America Team logo, visit the following link:


Please use the following Twitter handles: @AutoNation, @TheFWAA


SOURCE Football Writers Association of America