202 Winners in SABEW Best in Business Contest; Bloomberg Tops With 23

Mar 28, 2011, 21:24 ET from Society of American Business Editors and Writers

PHOENIX, March 28, 2011 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Society of American Business Editors and Writers (SABEW) has announced the winners of its 16th annual Best in Business competition, which honors excellence in business and financial journalism across all news platforms.

The Bloomberg News family of publications captured the most awards with 23 honors. The New York Times was second with 11 awards. GlobalPost was third with 10 awards. Overall, there were 202 winners across 79 categories, from among 904 entries received. The crush of entries from 2010 set a all-time record.

"We spent a lot of time and effort revamping this year's Best in Business contest to better reflect the evolving delivery of financial news," said Rob Reuteman, SABEW president. "Judging from the increased variety of winning entrants and first-time winners, those efforts bore fruit. As a wise editor said a few years ago, none of us got into this business because of our love of ink and paper. We're all delivering business news across multiple platforms these days, and the Best in Business contest will continue to honor our finest work, evolving as needed to reflect new media."

The awards will be presented Saturday, April 9, at the 48th annual conference in Dallas. The conference runs April 7-9 and features top government officials like SEC Chairman Mary Schapiro and White House Consumer Advocate Elizabeth Warren, and chairmen and CEOs from Southwest Airlines, American Airlines, Chesapeake Energy, Whole Foods and The Container Store. The conference will be at Collins Executive Center on the campus of Southern Methodist University. Members or guests can register for the conference at sabew.org, or call SABEW at 602-496-7862.

More than 200 working journalists and academics judged the annual contest. Judges' comments for winning entries will be released by April 6.

This year's contest coordinators were Beth Hunt, manager of editorial operations for Charlotte-based American City Business Journals, and Christopher Peacock, executive editor and vice president at CNN Money.

SABEW, the world's largest organization of business and financial journalists, began the Best in Business competition in 1995 to set standards and recognize role models in the industry.

Find the winners' list at sabew.org.

SOURCE Society of American Business Editors and Writers