AACC Announces 2016 Award Winners; Celebrates Achievements in Laboratory Medicine

Feb 16, 2016, 09:59 ET from AACC

WASHINGTON, Feb. 16, 2016 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- AACC, a global scientific and medical professional organization dedicated to better health through laboratory medicine, is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2016 AACC and National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry (NACB) Awards. Through this annual awards program, AACC and its academy, NACB, recognize individuals worldwide for exceptional research and service in the field of laboratory medicine, and aim to raise awareness that laboratory testing is essential to high quality patient care.

2016 AACC Award Winners

Wallace H. Coulter Lectureship Award 
John T. McDevitt, PhD
New York University College of Dentistry

Outstanding Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine 
Edward R. Ashwood, MD
ARUP Laboratories and the University of Utah

Outstanding Contributions in Education 
Ann M. Gronowski, PhD
Washington University School of Medicine

Outstanding Contributions Through Service to the Profession of Clinical Chemistry 
Larry A. Broussard, PhD
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center

Outstanding Scientific Achievements by a Young Investigator 
Mari DeMarco, PhD
St. Paul's Hospital

The Morton K. Schwartz Award for Significant Contributions in Cancer Research Diagnostics 
Elaine Mardis, PhD
The Genome Institute, Washington University School of Medicine

AACC Past President's Award 
David D. Koch, PhD
Emory University and Grady Memorial Hospital

2016 NACB Award Winners

AACC-NACB Award for Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Chemistry in a Selected Area of Research 
Martin Fleisher, PhD
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

NACB Professor Alvin Dubin Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Profession and the Academy 
William Winter, MD
University of Florida

NACB George Grannis Award for Excellence in Research and Scientific Publication 
Joe El-Khoury, PhD
Yale University

"I applaud this year's award recipients for their outstanding contributions to clinical laboratory testing," said AACC CEO Janet B. Kreizman. "Through pioneering research, innovations in clinical care, and a commitment to service and education, these individuals have advanced the field and enhanced the ability of laboratory professionals to provide vital insight so that patients get the care they need."

The 2016 AACC and NACB Award winners will be recognized during the 68th AACC Annual Scientific Meeting & Clinical Lab Expo at the opening plenary session at Philadelphia's Pennsylvania Convention Center on Sunday, July 31.

About AACC
Dedicated to achieving better health through laboratory medicine, AACC brings together more than 50,000 clinical laboratory professionals, physicians, research scientists, and business leaders from around the world focused on clinical chemistry, molecular diagnostics, mass spectrometry, translational medicine, lab management, and other areas of progressing laboratory science. Since 1948, AACC has worked to advance the common interests of the field, providing programs that advance scientific collaboration, knowledge, expertise, and innovation. For more information, visit www.aacc.org.


Christine DeLong
Manager, Communications & PR
(p) 202.835.8722

Molly Polen
Director, Communications & PR
(p) 202.420.7612
(c) 703.598.0472

Logo - http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20130701/PH41045LOGO