ACLJ, Which Represents Nearly 60 Members Of Congress, Says It's Pleased Supreme Court Upholds Key Provision Of Arizona Immigration Law

Jun 25, 2012, 12:23 ET from American Center for Law and Justice

WASHINGTON, June 25, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The American Center for Law and Justice (ACLJ), representing 57 members of Congress and more than 65,000 Americans, said today it is very pleased that the U.S. Supreme Court upheld a key provision of the constitutionality of the Arizona immigration law.

"The Supreme Court took an important step forward in permitting states to protect their borders and citizens," said Jay Sekulow, Chief Counsel of the ACLJ. "The Justices upheld a key provision of the Arizona immigration law that gives police authority to check the immigration status of a person while enforcing other laws if 'reasonable suspicion' exists that the person is in the United States illegally. While we're disappointed the high court failed to uphold all provisions of Arizona S.B. 1070, we're very pleased that the high court found this key provision constitutional, clearing the way for Arizona to continue its work to secure its borders and protect its citizens. Today's decision is certain to result in more legal challenges in Arizona and across the country. We will continue to support constitutional efforts by states to protect their borders and citizens."

The ACLJ filed an amicus brief with the Supreme Court representing 57 members of Congress and more than 65,000 Americans backing the Arizona law.

The ACLJ represented 57 members of Congress, 55 members of the U.S. House and two members of the U.S. Senate: Brian Bilbray, Trent Franks, Senator Jim DeMint, Senator David Vitter, Robert Aderholt, Michele Bachmann, Diane Black, Marsha Blackburn, Mo Brooks, Paul Broun, Michael Burgess, Dan Burton, Ken Calvert, John Culberson, John Duncan, John Fleming, Bill Flores, Randy Forbes, Virginia Foxx, Scott Garrett, Phil Gingrey, Paul Gosar, Ralph Hall, Lynn Jenkins, Walter Jones, Jim Jordan, Mike Kelly, Steve King, Adam Kinzinger, John Kline, Doug Lamborn, Jeff Landry, James Lankford, Robert Latta, Blaine Luetkemeyer, Don Manzullo, Kenny Marchant, Tom McClintock, Jeff Miller, Tim Murphy, Sue Myrick, Alan Nunnelee, Joe Pitts, Ted Poe, Mike Pompeo, Ben Quayle, Phil Roe, Dana Rohrabacher, Dennis Ross, Ed Royce, Jean Schmidt, David Schweikert, Lamar Smith, Cliff Stearns, Lynn Westmoreland, Ed Whitfield, and Rob Woodall.

The ACLJ also represented more than 65,000 Americans nationwide who have signed on to the ACLJ Committee to Protect America's Border.

Led by Chief Counsel Jay Sekulow, the American Center for Law and Justice focuses on constitutional law and is based in Washington, D.C.  The ACLJ is online at

For Print: Gene Kapp  (757) 575-9520
For Broadcast:  Chandler Epp or Alison Geist (770) 813-0000

SOURCE American Center for Law and Justice