Additional Counties Eligible for SBA Disaster Loans in West Virginia for Severe Storms and High Winds

Oct 25, 2012, 14:24 ET from U.S. Small Business Administration

ATLANTA, Oct. 25, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) announced today that several counties have been added to the disaster declaration in West Virginia as a result of the severe storms and high winds from June 29 through July 8, 2012.   

(Logo: )

The disaster declaration now covers the following counties: Boone, Cabell, Clay, Fayette, Greenbrier, Jackson, Kanawha, Lincoln, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Nicholas, Pocahontas, Raleigh, Roane, Tyler, Webster and Wood; and for Economic Injury Only the contiguous counties of Braxton, Calhoun, Doddridge, Lewis, Logan, Pendleton, Pleasants, Putnam, Randolph, Ritchie, Summers, Upshur, Wayne, Wetzel, Wirt and Wyoming in West Virginia; contiguous counties of Martin and Pike in Kentucky; contiguous counties of Athens, Gallia, Lawrence, Meigs, Monroe and Washington in Ohio; and contiguous counties of Alleghany, Bath, Bland, Buchanan, Craig, Giles, Highland and Tazewell in Virginia.

Disaster loans up to $200,000 are available to homeowners to repair or replace disaster damaged or destroyed real estate.  Homeowners and renters are eligible up to $40,000 to repair or replace disaster damaged or destroyed personal property.

Businesses and private non-profit organizations of any size may borrow up to $2 million to repair or replace disaster damaged or destroyed real estate, machinery and equipment, inventory, and other business assets.  The SBA may increase a loan up to 20 percent of the total amount of disaster damage to real estate and/or leasehold improvements, as verified by SBA, to make improvements that lessen the risk of property damage by future disasters of the same kind.

For small businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private non-profit organizations of all sizes, the SBA offers Economic Injury Disaster Loans to help meet working capital needs caused by the disaster.  Economic Injury Disaster Loan assistance is available regardless of whether the business suffered any physical property damage.

Interest rates are as low as 1.938 percent for homeowners and renters, 3 percent for non-profit organizations and 4 percent for businesses with terms up to 30 years.  Loan amounts and terms are set by the SBA and are based on each applicant's financial condition.

Disaster survivors do not have to wait on insurance to be settled before applying to SBA.  They can access an Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA's secure website at and apply. SBA's new online application is easier to read, and users can complete and submit the application more quickly.  There's a "help" link at the top of each page, which directs users to a place where they can get questions answered. SBA's Customer Service Representatives are located at all of the Disaster Recovery Centers to provide one-on-one assistance with the application process and answer any questions. Homeowners and renters should first register with FEMA and apply with SBA if referred.

To be considered for all forms of disaster assistance, applicants should first register with FEMA online at or by mobile devise at  If online or mobile access is unavailable, applicants should call the FEMA toll-free Helpline at 800-621-3362.  Those who use the 711-Relay or Video Relay Services should call 800-621-3362. Additional details on the locations of Disaster Recovery Centers and the loan application process can be obtained by calling the SBA Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing) or by sending an e-mail to

The filing deadline to return applications for physical property damage is November 19, 2012. The deadline to return economic injury applications is June 19, 2013.

For more information about the SBA's Disaster Loan Program, visit our website at

Contact: Michael Lampton
Phone: 404-331-0333

Release Number: 13-038, WV 13309/13310





SOURCE U.S. Small Business Administration