ASPA Recognizes Scholarship and Outstanding Contributions to Public Service

Scholars and Practitioners Honored at 2016 Annual Conference

Mar 18, 2016, 12:52 ET from American Society for Public Administration (ASPA)

WASHINGTON, March 18, 2016 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- More than 20 top scholars, practitioners and organizations will be recognized for their contributions and extraordinary commitment to public service at the American Society for Public Administration's Annual Conference in Seattle, March 18-22. Individuals will be recognized for their contributions promoting integrity in public service, lifetime scholarship and service to ASPA.

Their work, research and leadership have been instrumental in building a stronger public sector. This year's recipients represent a diverse mix of individuals working in the public, nonprofit and academic field, as well as recognition for the next generation of public servants through student awards and scholarships.

"Public service is about commitment to others. Those who work in the public and nonprofit sector dedicate endless hours to making their communities and the world around them better. ASPA is honored to be able to say thank you for their dedication and to recognize their contributions," said ASPA Executive Director William Shields.

In recognition of lifetime scholarship, contributions and dedication to the public service field, in particular public administration, ASPA will present the following awards:

Two student scholarships, the Walter Mode Scholarship Award and the Wallace O. Keene Conference Scholarship Award, will be presented to Carly Griffith Hotvedt of the Muscogee Creek Nation and Grant Rissler of Virginia Commonwealth University, respectively.

The Dwight Waldo Award, which honors outstanding contributions to the professional literature, will be awarded to Norma Riccucci of Rutgers University at Newark.

The Elmer Staats Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Public Service honoring an individual's contributions to public service over a lifetime will be presented to Stephen Condrey.

The Nesta M. Gallas Award honoring lifetime achievements on the part of a dedicated public servant and pioneering, innovative leader will be presented to Admiral Thad Allen, 23rd Commandant of the U.S. Coast Guard (Ret.) and Executive Vice President of Booz Allen Hamilton.

The Gloria Hobson Nordin Social Equity Award, honoring lifetime achievements in the course of social equity, will be presented to Larry Gossett, King County Council Member.

The International Public Administration Award will be presented to Andrew Podger from the Australian National University, for his work on a global scale to strengthen the public sector and understanding of public service.

The Public Integrity Award, which recognizes an organization that has made outstanding contributions to responsible conduct in public service, will be presented to The Virginia Tech Flint Water Study Team.

ASPA will also present the H. George Frederickson PA TIMES Best Article Award for the writer of the article judged most informative, critical and contributing to new knowledge published in PA TIMES during 2015. This year's winning author is William Hatcher of Georgia Regents University.

The Donald C. Stone Service to ASPA Award will be presented to J. Paul Blake, of the University of Washington, Ann Hess Braga of the City of Boston and Kendra Stewart of the College of Charleston.

Public Administration Review, the premier journal for those in public management and administration, will also present awards for the best submission, commentary and book review during the 2015 publication year.

For PAR's Louis Brownlow Award: Seok Eun Kim of Hanyang University, South Korea, and You Hyun Kim of the Korean National Assembly, South Korea.

William E. and Frederick C. Mosher Award: Sergio Fernandez of Indiana University, Bloomington, Zachary W. Oberfield of Haverford College, Tima Moldogoziev of the University of Georgia and William G. Resh of the University of Southern California.

Burchfield Award for Best Book Review: Wes Grooms, University of Louisville

Chester Newland Award: John Perry of Village of Woolridge, Illinois.

ASPA's Center for Accountability and Performance (CAP) will recognize organizations and individuals that have helped promote efficient and effective administration through model performance management techniques. These awards will be presented Sunday, March 20 during CAP's panel session.

Harry Hatry Distinguished Performance Measurement and Management Practice Award will be awarded to Gary R. Vanlandingham of The Pew Charitable Trusts.

Joseph Wholey Distinguished Scholarship Award will be presented to Alexander Kroll of Florida International University.

CAP's Organizational Leadership Award will be awarded to the City and County of Denver and its Peak Academy Initiative.

ASPA is the leading interdisciplinary public service organization that advances the art, science, teaching and practice of public and nonprofit administration. Learn more at

Photo - 


SOURCE American Society for Public Administration (ASPA)