Brinks Hofer Gilson & Lione Wins Burton 'Decade Award' for Outstanding Legal Writing

Jan 11, 2010, 10:06 ET from Brinks Hofer Gilson & Lione

CHICAGO, Jan. 11 /PRNewswire/ -- Brinks Hofer Gilson & Lione, one of the largest intellectual property law firms in the United States, has been recognized by The Burton Awards for Legal Achievement with a "Decade Award" for outstanding legal writing.

Brinks is among 20 law firms nationwide recognized for having received the greatest number of Burton Awards during the past 10 years. Recipients are nominated by managing partners of the 1,000 largest U.S. law firms. The Burton Awards is a non-profit program operated in association with the Library of Congress.

Brinks has a long history of distinguished writing in the field of intellectual property law, and the firm's attorneys have received seven previous Burton Awards. In 2006, the firm received the William C. Burton Record of Distinction Award, which acknowledges three consecutive wins by attorneys at a law firm as a direct reflection of the high quality of legal writing at the firm.

Brinks senior shareholder and renowned trademark law expert Jerome Gilson, with Anne Gilson LaLonde, won Burton Awards for Excellence in Legal Writing in 2003, 2005, and 2006 for articles published in The Trademark Reporter in 2002 and 2005, and for The Madrid Protocol: Trademark Superhero?, a legal guide published by LexisNexis® Mathew Bender® in 2004. Gilson is widely known as the original author of Gilson on Trademarks, a leading treatise in the field.

Brinks counsel Christopher A. Harkins won Burton Awards for Excellence in Legal Writing in 2007, 2008, and 2009 for articles published in Lewis & Clark Law Review, Albany Law Journal, and Missouri Law Review, respectively.

Brinks shareholder Jeffery A. Handelman was a co-winner of a 2008 Burton Award for Best Law Firm Compendium for Guide to TTAB Practice, a two-volume treatise published by Aspen Publishers, a division of Wolters Kluwer Law & Business Group.

"Award-winning firms have set an example in legal writing that all members of the profession should follow and emulate," said William C. Burton, founder and chair of the program. "Their success is applauded and their emphasis on this critically important discipline is also lauded."

Established in 1999, The Burton Awards are dedicated principally to rewarding effective legal writing. The program honors law firm partners and law students who use plain, clear, and concise language and avoid archaic, stilted "legalese." The 2010 awards ceremony will be held in June 2010 at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C.

Brinks Hofer Gilson & Lione is one of the largest intellectual property law firms in the United States and serves the intellectual property needs of clients around the world. Brinks has more than 180 attorneys, scientific advisors, and patent agents who specialize in intellectual property litigation and all aspects of patent, trademark, and copyright law. The firm also advises on issues relating to intellectual asset management, trade secret, unfair competition, and technology and licensing agreements.

Brinks routinely handles assignments for companies in the electrical, chemical, and mechanical engineering sectors; the biotechnology, pharmaceutical, and nanotechnology industries, and for companies whose work relates to Internet and computer technology law. The firm's trademark practice works on behalf of clients who deal in a wide variety of products and services. Founded in 1917, Brinks is based in Chicago and has five additional offices across the country. More information is available at

    Jennifer Harris
    Clovis, Inc.
    (312) 346-1700

    Carolee Swallie
    Brinks Hofer Gilson & Lione
    (312) 321-4717

SOURCE Brinks Hofer Gilson & Lione