Call for Entries: American Society of Journalists and Authors' Annual Writing Awards

The awards recognize distinguished achievement in nonfiction articles and books

Nov 30, 2015, 14:00 ET from American Society of Journalists and Authors

NEW YORK, Nov. 30, 2015 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA) is accepting submissions for its Annual Writing Awards through mid-January. ASJA recognizes distinguished achievements in nonfiction freelance writing with a series of annual awards. Non-members and members alike are eligible for The Arlene Eisenberg Memorial and the Donald Robinson Memorial Awards.

These endowed awards honor books and freelance articles that have "made a difference" by inspiring positive action within a locale or community, society or the world; or that represents exceptional skill in investigative reporting or exposé. Each award comes with a cash prize and will be presented at ASJA's Annual Writers Conference in New York City on May 20, 2016.

Howard Eisenberg, an ASJA member, established the Arlene Eisenberg Memorial Fund to honor his late wife, the author of What to Expect When You're Expecting and other bestselling books that made a difference in the lives of mothers worldwide. In the past, the Fund's award has been given for articles or books that inspired readers to act by lobbying for legislations or by forming an advocacy group.

Donald Robinson, the third president of ASJA, established the Donald Robinson Memorial Fund. The Fund recognizes writers who have published a freelance article that represents exceptional skill in investigative reporting or exposé.

For more information about submission requirements or to submit a project, please visit the ASJA Annual Writing Awards Call for Entries Page. The submission deadline is January 15, 2016.

The submissions recognized in 2015 include:

The Arlene Article Award
Christine Larson
Light Bulb Moments for a Nonprofit
The New York Times

Donald Robinson Memorial Award
Dan Patterson
Angels of Death

About ASJA

Founded in 1948, the American Society of Journalists and Authors is the nation's professional organization of independent nonfiction writers. Our membership consists of more than 1,200 outstanding freelance writers of magazine articles, trade books, and many other forms of nonfiction writing, each of whom has met ASJA's exacting standards of professional achievement. ASJA brings leadership in establishing professional and ethical standards, and in recognizing and encouraging the pursuit of excellence in nonfiction writing. ASJA headquarters are in New York City. The Society has active regional chapters in a variety of locations. Learn more at our blog Follow us on Twitter at

Crystal Goodremote Rankin
T. 212-297-2140

Logo -


SOURCE American Society of Journalists and Authors