CHS Foundation Awards $75,000 In Scholarships

Jun 05, 2013, 17:32 ET from CHS Inc.

ST. PAUL, Minn., June 5, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- The CHS Foundation has awarded 75 $1,000 scholarships to college students studying agriculture. This year's recipients include 50 high school seniors and 25 two-year college students from 28 states. The CHS Foundation is the major giving entity of CHS Inc., the nation's leading farmer-owned cooperative and a global energy, grains and foods company.

"The CHS Foundation values the opportunity to help build the next generation of leaders in the production, science, technology and business of agriculture," says William J. Nelson, CHS Foundation president.  "We are proud to support these promising students who will play an important role in shaping the future of agriculture." 

An independent, external committee selected recipients based on their career goals, essays, extracurricular involvement, transcripts and reference letters. See below for a complete list of high school and two-year college scholarship recipients and the institutions they will attend.


Chandler Mulvaney, Chattahoochee Valley Community College

Alexander Schaller, University of Arizona

Rhett Bergman, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
Joshua Dowell, California State University, Fresno
Johan Eide, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
Daphne Norman, California State University, Chico
Angelica Smith, California State University, Fresno

Kody Anderson, Northeastern Junior College
Laura Gerk, Northeastern Junior College
Taylor Duzik, Colorado Northwestern Community College
Ryan Ernst, Colorado State University
Rachael Latta, Colorado State University
Mary Beth Lenz, the University of Wyoming

Heather Slattery, the University of Connecticut

Jennifer Swain, South Florida State College

Tyler Willingham, Georgia Perimeter College
Samantha Strickland, Abraham Baldwin Agriculture College

Katie Backs, the University of Illinois
Tyler Johnson, Black Hawk College East

Christin Kettler, Purdue University
Connor Scheumann, Purdue University
Cory Sullivan, Purdue University

Mackenzie Felt, Indian Hills Community College
Madison Kirchmann, Northeast Iowa Community College
Hannah Riensche, Cornell University
Mariah Schmitt, Iowa State University

Cooper Clawson, Kansas State University

Emily Hartzog, Louisiana Tech University

Jacob Hall, Michigan State University

Brent Fischer, South Central College
Lisa Johnson, South Central College
Anna Culbertson, the University of Minnesota
Kelly Morrison, South Dakota State University
Abby Resch, the University of Minnesota
Brandon Roiger, the University of Minnesota
Rochelle Widmer, Gustavus Adolphus College

Matthew Pokojski, Kaskaskia College
Jarrek Rankin, Linn State Technical College
Britton Francis, Fort Scott Community College
Miriam Martin, the University of Missouri
Samuel McDonald, the University of Missouri

Morgan Bredthauer, Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture
Tevyn Baldwin, the University of Wyoming
Eleanor Wagner, the University of Nebraska

New Hampshire
Jenna Brown, the University of New Hampshire
Nathaniel Kimball-Barr, the University of New Hampshire

New York
Brendan Knoll, University of Findlay

North Carolina
Zachary Wilson, Southeastern Community College
Kaylyn Groce, Oklahoma State University

North Dakota
Jacob Lardy, North Dakota State University
Jessica Long, North Dakota State University

Cassandra Glazer, Ohio State Agricultural Technical Institute
Frankie Grum, Ohio State Agricultural Technical Institute
Douglas Seger, Ohio State Agricultural Technical Institute
Jonathan Ursich, Ohio State Agricultural Technical Institute
Abigail VanTyne, Ohio State Agricultural Technical Institute
Briana Keyes, Morehead State

Erika Bentz, Colorado State University

South Dakota
Elizabeth Renner, Augustana College
Gretchen Rops, Dordt College

Brady Arthur, Blinn College- Brehnam Campus
Leah Bauer, Texas A&M University
Hannah Kelley, Tarleton State University
Shelby Kilpatrick, Texas A&M University
Joanna Swindoll, West Texas A&M University
Allyson Thompson, Stephen F. Austin State University

Whitney Bowman, Virginia Tech
Brittany Bowman, Virginia Tech

Ava Petersen, the University of Nebraska

Grace Curran, the University of Wisconsin-River Falls
Jessica Pralle, the University of Wisconsin-Madison
Elizabeth Wanninger, the University of Minnesota
Alison Wedig, the University of Wisconsin-Madison

William Dalles, Casper College
Aubree Thomas, Casper College


CHS Inc. (NASDAQ: CHSCP) ( is a leading global agribusiness owned by farmers, ranchers and cooperatives across the United States. Diversified in energy, grains and foods, CHS is committed to helping its customers, farmer-owners and other stakeholders grow their businesses through its domestic and global operations. CHS, a Fortune 100 company, supplies energy, crop nutrients, grain marketing services, livestock feed, food and food ingredients, along with business solutions including insurance, financial and risk management services. The company operates petroleum refineries/pipelines and manufactures, markets and distributes Cenex® brand refined fuels, lubricants, propane and renewable energy products.

The CHS Foundation ( is the major giving entity of CHS Inc. ( As part of the CHS stewardship focus, the CHS Foundation is committed to investing in the future of rural America, agriculture and cooperative businesses through education and leadership development.