CMG Honors Industry's Best of Best for Their Contributions to the Field of Computer Service Delivery, Performance Analysis and Capacity Planning

Jan 25, 2010, 11:26 ET from Computer Measurement Group

TURNERSVILLE, N.J., Jan. 25 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Computer Measurement Group (CMG), the IT professionals responsible for planning, measuring and managing the world's largest IT infrastructures, announced today a number of industry leaders who were recognized at CMG'09 for their contributions to the field of computer service delivery, performance, and capacity management.

CMG awarded "Best Papers" to the following individuals:

  • Brian Barnett, Bank of America, with co-authors Perry Gibson, AwareNautics, LLC, and Frank Bereznay, IBM – For their paper titled, "Survival Analysis In Computer Performance Analysis"
  • Dr. Tim R. Norton – Simalytic Solutions –  For his paper titled, "Modeling Virtualized Environments in Simalytic Models by Computing Missing Service Demand Parameters"
  • Amy Spellman, Optimal Innovations, with co-authors Richard Gimarc, HyPerformix, Inc., and Mark Preston, RS Performance – For their paper titled, "Leveraging The Cloud For Green IT: Predicting the Energy, Cost and Performance of Cloud Computing"

The "Best Paper" is chosen from a small set of papers that the conference paper referees acknowledge as they read and evaluate the submissions for the conference.

CMG awarded the Mullen Award to the following individuals:

  • Scott Chapman – American Electric Power – For his paper titled, "Finding The Critical Path - A Simple Approach"
  • Chris Lynn – Safeway – For his paper titled, "Load Testing Is Easy - Good Load Testing Is Not"

The J. William Mullen award is given in memory of past CMG president Bill Mullen. This award recognizes his contributions to CMG and the profession of information technology. The award recipient is an individual who exhibits both technical excellence and an engaging presentation style.

CMG awarded the A. A. Michelson Award to the following individual:

  • Bruce McNutt – IBM

Albert Abraham Michelson was known for his technical accomplishments in measuring the speed of light and for his role as teacher and inspirer of others. CMG presents this prestigious award to recognize and encourage the same combination of technical excellence and professional contribution found in only an exceptional few.

Bruce McNutt has been a stalwart contributor to CMG and the performance community for more than 25 years. In both theory and practice, he has advanced the fields of capacity planning, benchmarking and performance evaluation.

Mr. McNutt's hierarchical reuse model, described in CMG papers and his book The Fractal Structure of Data Reference: Applications to the Memory Hierarchy, is a powerful tool for understanding cache and database behaviors on many scales of size and time. A key player in the development of standardized performance tests for storage, Mr. McNutt has authored a series of CMG papers on the central concepts of the SPC-1 and SPC-2 benchmarks.

Mr. McNutt is the author of a steady stream of papers and reports, including many CMG "Best Paper" awards.  He has made major contributions to both the CMG and the computer performance community which it serves.

Winning papers and all CMG papers are available to CMG members at

The CMG '10 conference is taking place December 5 though 10 in Orlando, Florida at the Gaylord Palms Hotel.  To become a CMG member, please visit:

The Computer Measurement Group ( is a not-for-profit, worldwide organization of IT professionals committed to sharing information and practices focused on ensuring the efficiency and scalability of IT service delivery to the enterprise through measurement, quantitative analysis, and forecasting.

SOURCE Computer Measurement Group