Courage Center Seeks Nominations for 2011 National Courage Award

Dec 07, 2010, 15:29 ET from Courage Center

MINNEAPOLIS, Dec. 7, 2010 /PRNewswire/ -- Nominations are now being accepted for the 2011 National Courage Award.  Since 1980, Minnesota-based Courage Center has presented the National Courage Award, which recognizes an individual's contributions to the health, welfare and rehabilitation of people with disabilities.

Some of the previous National Courage Award winners include: disability rights activists Justin Dart Jr. and Ed Roberts; former U.S. Senators Max Cleland and Bob Dole; former U.S. Rep. Jim Ramstad; former U.S. Attorney General Janet Reno; designer Michael Graves; physicist Stephen Hawking; journalist John Hockenberry; musician Itzhak Perlman; and actor Christopher Reeve. The 2010 recipient was disability rights advocate Judith Heumann.  For a complete listing of former National Courage Award recipients click here.

These past winners are excellent examples of leadership, innovation and determination.  We look forward to honoring the 2011 winner with your help. Nominations are being accepted through December 31, 2010 at  The award will be presented at the Celebration of Courage on Saturday, Sept. 24, 2011.

About Courage Center

Courage Center is a nonprofit rehabilitation and resource center that advances the lives of children and adults experiencing barriers to health and independence.  At Courage Center, we specialize in treating brain injury, spinal cord injury, stroke, chronic pain, autism, and disabilities experienced since birth.  Founded in 1928, Minneapolis-based Courage Center offers advanced technologies and innovation provided in part through the efforts of thousands of volunteers and donors. For more information visit


Sue Warner, 763-520-0263;

Jacob Johnson, 763-520-0365,

SOURCE Courage Center