Dallas Committee for a Qualified Judiciary Releases List of Qualified Judicial Candidates for 2010 Democratic Primary

Jan 25, 2010, 16:13 ET from Committee for a Qualified Judiciary

DALLAS, Jan. 25 /PRNewswire/ -- The non-partisan Committee for a Qualified Judiciary is announcing its slate of candidates in contested primary elections who have earned a rating as qualified to hold office in the Dallas County judiciary.  The primary election in Dallas County will be held on Tuesday, March 2, with early voting beginning on Tuesday, Feb. 16.

The only contested judicial primary elections are in the Democratic Party, therefore Republican Party candidates were not evaluated at this time.  The CQJ will evaluate judicial candidates of both parties for the November 2010 general election prior to the early voting period, which begins on Oct. 18.

The CQJ invited each of the 40 candidates who filed in the 17 contested races in the Democratic Party primary to participate in the CQJ's evaluation process, and 37 of the candidates responded.  Candidates were evaluated based on their legal abilities, integrity, judicial temperament and commitment to the fair and impartial administration of justice.

In addition to personal interviews, the CQJ's evaluation panels reviewed public records as well as questionnaires submitted by the candidates, and conducted reference and background checks. In many of the contested races, each of the candidates was found to be qualified.  

A total of 30 judicial candidates have been endorsed as qualified by the CQJ in the Democratic primary.  In alphabetical order, by Court, they are:

68th Judicial District

Martin Hoffman

134th Judicial District

David Kelton, Dale Tillery

203rd Judicial District

Susan Anderson, Teresa Hawthorne, Davey Lamb

254th Judicial District

David Hanschen, James Martin

256th Judicial District

David Lopez

265th Judicial District

Manny Alvarez, Mark Stoltz

291st Judicial District

Susan Hawk

363rd Judicial District

Tracey Holmes

304th Family District Court

Nicolas "Nick" Quezada

Criminal District Court No. 7

Mike Snipes

County Court at Law No. 5

Mark Greenberg, Gerald Livingston

County Criminal Court No. 2

Lennox Bower, Julia Hayes

County Criminal Court No. 5

Hector Garza, John Loza, Etta Mullin, Ann Rust

County Criminal Court No 7

John Carlough, Elizabeth Crowder

County Criminal Court No. 8

Joseph Ramirez Miller, Tina Yoo

Count Criminal Court of Appeals No. 1

Kristin Wade

County Probate Court No. 1

John Peyton, Brenda Hull Thompson

The CQJ consists of 145 attorneys, business and civic leaders from all parts of Dallas County.  The Committee was formed more than 25 years ago to provide useful, non-partisan information that allows citizens to make informed voting choices.  More information about the CQJ may be found at www.cqjdallas.org.

For more information, contact Brian Melton at 214-780-1400, bmelton@shacklaw.net or Mike Androvett at 214-559-4630, mike@androvett.com.

SOURCE Committee for a Qualified Judiciary