EBMA Names Sharon M. Draper Winner of the 33rd Annual Jeremiah Ludington Memorial Award

Oct 26, 2011, 16:30 ET from Educational Book and Media Association (EBMA)

WARRENTON, Va., Oct. 26, 2011  /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Educational Book and Media Association (EBMA) today announced that Sharon M. Draper is the winner of the 2011 Jeremiah Ludington Award. The Ludington Award, named after EBMA's founder, is presented annually to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the educational book business. Past winners have included Steven Kellogg, Jon Scieszka, Kevin Henkes, Mary Pope Osborne, Seymour Simon, Tomie dePaola, Richard Peck, Lois Lowry, and Paula Danziger.

In addition to a framed certificate, EBMA will present a $2,500 check to the charity of Ms. Draper's choice.  Sharon Draper will accept the award at EBMA's annual meeting in Puerto Rico in January.  She has designated that the donation be sent to Starfire Council of Greater Cincinnati.  Starfire enables individuals with disabilities to become active and vital members of the community. Since 1993, Starfire has offered innovative programs that address the emerging needs of teens and adults with disabilities.

"The EBMA board and membership are thrilled to present this year's Ludington Award to Sharon Draper," said Dan Walsh, EBMA President and COO of Children's Plus, Inc.  "Her contributions to children's literature and her 25 years of teaching are truly impressive."  Ms. Draper is a New York Times bestselling author as well as a two-time Coretta Scott King Award-winner for Copper Sun and Forged by Fire. She is also the recipient of the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe Author Award for New Talent for Tears of a Tiger and the Coretta Scott King Author Honor for The Battle of Jericho and November Blues. Draper's other well-known works include Out of My Mind, Romiette and Julio, Darkness Before Dawn, Double Dutch, and the Clubhouse Mysteries series.  Not only is Ms. Draper an accomplished author but she is also a professional educator and has been honored as the National Teacher of the Year as well as the Ohio Teacher of the Year.  Ms. Draper resides in Cincinnati, Ohio, and is a popular conference speaker, addressing educational and literary groups both nationally and internationally. For more information visit her online at  www.sharondraper.com.

The Educational Book and Media Association, or EBMA, formerly known as the Educational Paperback Association, or EPA, is an association of over 30 wholesalers and 70 publishers who are reputable and authoritative suppliers of educational paperbacks, prebound books, and other materials to the school and library markets. For more information about the EBMA and the Ludington Award, visit www.edupaperback.org.

SOURCE Educational Book and Media Association (EBMA)