Finalists Announced for 36th Annual HUMANITAS Prize Honoring Great Television and Film Writing

Jul 14, 2010, 14:56 ET from The HUMANITAS Prize

CBS President Nina Tassler to Deliver Keynote Speech at Awards Luncheon September 16, 2010 at the Montage Beverly Hills

LOS ANGELES, July 14 /PRNewswire/ -- Thirty-four writers were named finalists in seven categories for the 36th Annual HUMANITAS Prize, it was announced today by HUMANITAS Executive Director Cathleen Young and President John Wells. The writers will be competing for $90,000 in prize money to be handed out at the annual luncheon which will be held on Thursday, September 16, 2010 at the Montage Beverly Hills. The HUMANITAS Prize was created 36 years ago to reward great writing for television and film.

"HUMANITAS exists to shine a light on writers who inspire us to think, feel, laugh and cry with stories that tell us where we've been, where we are and where we are going," commented Young. "Today's finalists epitomize all that HUMANITAS stands for: fully realized characters and elegant, powerful storytelling that entertains and uplifts us."

CBS Entertainment President Nina Tassler will deliver the keynote address at this year's luncheon. "From her roots in theatre, to her start as an agent in this industry, to her transition to the executive ranks, Nina Tassler has proven herself to be an extraordinary, visionary talent and a passionate champion of writers and great storytelling," said Wells. "We are thrilled to have Nina as our keynote speaker."

The HUMANITAS Prize finalists are:

Feature Film Category ($10,000)

THE HURT LOCKER Screenplay by: Mark Boal (Summit Entertainment)

THE LITTLE TRAITOR Screenplay by: Lynn Roth (Westchester Films)

THE MESSENGER Screenplay by: Alessandro Camon & Oren Moverman (Oscilloscope Pictures)

PRECIOUS: Based on the Novel 'PUSH' by Sapphire. Screenplay by: Geoffrey Fletcher (Lionsgate)

Sundance Feature Film Category ($10,000)

NIGHT CATCHES US Written by: Tanya Hamilton

THE KIDS ARE ALL RIGHT Written by: Lisa Cholodenko & Stuart Blumberg

WINTER'S BONE Written by: Anne Rosellini & Debra Granik

90 Minute Category ($10,000)

AMISH GRACE Written by: Sylvie White & Teena Booth (Lifetime)

ENDGAME Written by: Paula Milne (PBS)

TEMPLE GRANDIN Written by: Christopher Monger & William Merritt Johnson (HBO)

60 Minute Category ($10,000)

BREAKING BAD "Peekaboo" Written by: J. Roberts & Vince Gillligan (AMC)

GLEE "Wheels" Written by: Ryan Murphy (FOX)

THE GOOD WIFE: "Pilot" Written by: Robert King & Michelle King (CBS)

GREY'S ANATOMY "Give Peace a Chance" Written by: Peter Nowalk (ABC)

IN TREATMENT "Walter –Week Six" Written by: Warren Leight (HBO)

MEN OF A CERTAIN AGE "Father's Fraternity" Written by: Warren Hutcherson (TNT)

30 Minute Category ($10,000)

MEET THE BROWNS "Meet the Racist" Written by: Myra J. (TBS)

THE MIDDLE "The Block Party" Written by: Alex Reid (ABC)

MODERN FAMILY "Pilot" Written by: Steven Levitan & Christopher Lloyd (ABC)

NURSE JACKIE "Pilot" Written by: Liz Brixius, Linda Wallem & Evan Dunsky (Showtime)

THE SIMPSONS "The Greatest Story Ever D'ohed" Written by: Kevin Curran (FOX)

The David & Lynn Angell Fellowship in Comedy Writing ($10,000)

CLAY KELLER Chapman University School of Film and Media Arts Original script of DINNER THEATRE "Pilot"

Fellowship in Dramatic Writing ($10,000)

ADAM SIMON University of California, Los Angeles, Department of Film and Television Original script of HOPING FOR DISASTER "Pilot"

SARAH CORNWELL University of Texas Austin, Department of Radio, Television and Film Spec script of FRIDAY NIGHT LIGHTS "Just a Game"

Since its inception in 1974, the HUMANITAS Prize has presented over 283 prizes and dispersed over $3 million in prize money to television and motion picture writers whose work honestly explores the complexities of the human experience and sheds light on the positive values of life. Each year the HUMANITAS Prize holds Master Writers Workshops presented by today's leading writers.

Winners of the HUMANITAS Prize have included: David E. Kelley ("The Practice," "Picket Fences"); Ben Affleck and Matt Damon (Good Will Hunting); Steven Zaillian (Schindler's List); David Shore ("HOUSE"); Aaron Sorkin ("The West Wing"); Tim Robbins (Dead Man Walking); Jason Katims ("Friday Night Lights"); Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon and Pete Docter (WALL-E); Steven Levitan ("Frasier"); Aseem Batra ("Scrubs"); Nancy Oliver (Lars and the Real Girl); Eric Roth (The Insider); Paul Haggis (Crash); Steven Bochco ("Hill Street Blues," "NYPD Blue") and Keir Pearson and Terry George (Hotel Rwanda).

For more information, please visit the HUMANITAS Prize at

CONTACT: Eddie Michaels, Insignia, Inc.,