First Lady Michelle Obama to Celebrate the National Design Awards with White House Luncheon

Jul 09, 2012, 15:00 ET from Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum

NEW YORK, July 9, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Smithsonian's Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum today announced First Lady Michelle Obama will celebrate the 2012 National Design Awards Friday, July 13, with a White House luncheon for the winners of the awards. In support of the First Lady's emphasis on education and outreach to the Washington, D.C., community, the award winners will participate in an education program for local high school students from 9 to 11 a.m. in the Robert and Arlene Kogod Courtyard at the Smithsonian American Art Museum and the Smithsonian's National Portrait Gallery. Mrs. Obama serves as the honorary patron for this year's National Design Awards.

"The First Lady is a powerful advocate for design innovation and education outreach, and we are truly honored to have her patronage again this year," said Bill Moggridge, director of the museum.

The museum also today announced the selection of Red Burns as this year's Design Patron, in recognition of her outstanding support and patronage within the design community. Unlike the other awards, which are selected by a jury, the Design Patron is chosen by the museum. Burns is arts professor and chief collaborations officer for the Interactive Telecommunications Program at the Tisch School of the Arts at New York University. She is being recognized for her role as founder of ITP and for her innovations and achievements in the communication technology field.

The Award recipients are:

  • Lifetime Achievement: Richard Saul Wurman
  • Design Mind: Janine Benyus
  • Design Patron: Red Burns
  • Corporate and Institutional Achievement: Design that Matters
  • Architecture Design: Mack Scogin Merrill Elam Architects
  • Communication Design: Rebeca Mendez
  • Fashion Design: Thom Browne
  • Interaction Design: Evan Roth
  • Interior Design: Clive Wilkinson Architects
  • Landscape Architecture: Stoss Landscape Urbanism
  • Product Design: Scott Wilson

National Design Week is made possible in part by the generous sponsorship of Target. The National Design Awards are supported in part by Behance. Media sponsorship for the National Design Awards is provided by Fast Company.  

Founded in 1897, Cooper-Hewitt is the only museum in the nation devoted exclusively to historic and contemporary design. The museum presents compelling perspectives on the impact of design on daily life through active educational programs, exhibitions and publications.

SOURCE Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum