Former Members of Congress Sign the Campaign to Fix the Debt's Bipartisan Congressional Fiscal Leadership Council's Open Letter

Oct 08, 2013, 10:37 ET from Campaign to Fix the Debt

WASHINGTON, Oct. 8, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Today, the Campaign to Fix the Debt's Congressional Fiscal Leadership Council (CFLC), a bipartisan group of 120 former federal lawmakers from across the country delivered an open letter to Members of Congress and President Obama. By signing the letter, they reaffirmed the CFLC's commitment to urging for meaningful deficit-reduction legislation and commended leaders who demonstrate a willingness to take a stand.

"The Congressional Fiscal Leadership Council continues to demonstrate their commitment to finding real solutions to our America's fiscal challenges by signing the letter," said Maya MacGuineas, head of the Campaign to Fix the Debt. "They understand the importance of addressing our country's growing federal debt and bipartisan support of a plan to fix it."

With the government shutdown dragging on, attention has been shifted to the debt and our economic future. The CFLC's mission is becoming increasingly important, as the current government dysfunction threatens to spill over to other areas – like raising the debt ceiling – where failure to reach agreement would not just be disruptive, but have disastrous economic consequences both at home and abroad.

The Campaign to Fix the Debt is a non-partisan movement asking lawmakers to work together on legislation large enough to stabilize and reduce the national debt as a share of the economy. Members come from a broad range of social, economic and political perspectives with the belief that America's growing debt burden threatens our future, and that we must address it now. The Campaign will mobilize key communities – including leaders from business, government, and policy – and people all across America who want to see elected officials step up to solve our nation's fiscal challenges

For more information about the Campaign to Fix the Debt, please visit

Campaign to Fix the Debt Congressional Fiscal Leadership Council Open Letter Signers

Former U.S. Senators

Sen. Evan Bayh (D-IN)
Sen. William Brock (R-TN)
Sen. Jim Broyhill (R-NC)
Sen. Richard Bryan (D-NV)
Sen. Kent Conrad (D-ND)
Sen. John Danforth (R-MO)
Sen. Dennis DeConcini (D-AZ)
Sen. Pete Domenici (R-NM)
Sen. Byron Dorgan (D-ND)
Sen. Judd Gregg (R-NH)
Sen. Gary Hart (D-CO)
Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX)
Sen. George LeMieux (R-FL)
Sen. Joe Lieberman (I-CT)
Sen. Mel Martinez (R-FL)
Sen. Frank Murkowski (R-AK)
Sen. Sam Nunn (D-GA)
Sen. Charles Robb (D-VA)
Sen. Alan Simpson (R-WY)
Sen. John E. Sununu (R-NH)
Sen. George Voinovich (R-OH)

Former U.S. Representatives

Rep. Jason Altmire (D-PA)
Rep. Alvin J. Baldus (D-WI)
Rep. Steve Bartlett (R-TX)
Rep. Charlie Bass (R-NH)
Rep. Jim Bates (D-CA)
Rep. Robert Bauman (R-MD)
Rep. Mike Blouin (D-IA)
Rep. Sherwood Boehlert (R-NY)
Rep. Mary Bono (R-CA)
Rep. Glen Browder (D-AL)
Rep. Beverly Byron (D-MD)
Rep. Bob Carr (D-MI)
Rep. Mike Castle (R-DE)
Rep. Rod Chandler (R-WA)
Rep. William Clinger (R-PA)
Rep. Jim Coyne (R-PA)
Rep. Bud Cramer (D-AL)
Rep. Buddy Darden (D-GA)
Rep. Hal Daub (R-NE)
Rep. Lincoln Davis (D-TN)
Rep. Jack Edwards (R-AL)
Rep. Mickey Edwards (R-OK)
Rep. Brad Ellsworth (D-IN)
Rep. Glenn English (D-OK)
Rep. Philip English (R-PA)
Rep. Thomas Ewing (R-IL)
Rep. Vic Fazio (D-CA)
Rep. Ronnie Flippo (D-AL)
Rep. Ed Foreman (R-TX, R-NM)
Rep. Bill Frenzel (R-MN)
Rep. Lou Frey (R-FL)
Rep. Don Fuqua (D-FL)
Rep. Bob Garcia (D-NY)
Rep. Dan Glickman (D-KS)
Rep. Bart Gordon (D-TN)
Rep. Frank Guarini (D-NJ)
Rep. Steve Gunderson (R-WI)
Rep. Bill Gunter (D-FL)
Rep. Gil Gutknecht (R-MN)
Rep. John Hiler (R-IN)
Rep. Baron Hill (D-IN)
Rep. Joe Hoeffel (D-PA)
Rep. Marjorie Holt (R-MD)
Rep. Darlene Hooley (D-OR)
Rep. Amo Houghton (R-NY)
Rep. Earl Hutto (D-FL)
Rep. John Jenrette (D-SC)
Rep. C. Donald Johnson (D-GA)
Rep. Jim Jones (D-OK)
Rep. William J. Keating (R-OH)
Rep. Martha Keys (D-KS)
Rep. Larry Kissell (D-NC)
Rep. Jim Kolbe (R-AZ)
Rep. Ernie Konnyu (R-CA)
Rep. Ken Kramer (R-CO)
Rep. Nick Lampson (D-TX)
Rep. Larry LaRocco (D-ID)
Rep. Elliott Levitas (D-GA)
Rep. Dave McCurdy (D-OK)
Rep. Matthew McHugh (D-NY)
Rep. Alex McMillan (R-NC)
Rep. Thomas McMillen (D-MD)
Rep. Charlie Melancon (D-LA)
Rep. Enid Greene Mickelsen (R-UT)
Rep. David Minge (D-MN)
Rep. Walt Minnick (D-ID)
Rep. Jim Moody (D-WI)
Rep. Connie Morella (R-MD)
Rep. Bruce Morrison (D-CT)
Rep. Jim Nussle (R-IA)
Rep. Glenn Nye (D-VA)
Rep. Mike Oxley (R-OH)
Rep. Liz Patterson (D-SC)
Rep. Lewis Payne (D-VA)
Rep. Tim Penny (I-MN)
Rep. John Porter (R-IL)
Rep. Jack Quinn (R-NY)
Rep. Carlos Romero-Barcelo (D-PR)
Rep. J. Roy Rowland (D-GA)
Rep. Marty Russo (D-IL)
Rep. Ronald Sarasin (R-CT)
Rep. Chris Shays (R-CT)
Rep. David Skaggs (D-CO)
Rep. Jim Slattery (D-KS)
Rep. Peter Smith (R-VT)
Rep. Zack Space (D-OH)
Rep. Charlie Stenholm (D-TX)
Rep. Dick Swett (D-NH)
Rep. Robin Tallon (D-SC)
Rep. John Tanner (D-TN)
Rep. Tom Tauke (R-IA)
Rep. Lindsay Thomas (D-GA)
Rep. Esteban Torres (D-CA)
Rep. Jim Turner (D-TX)
Rep. Jim Walsh (R-NY)
Rep. Zach Wamp (R-TN)
Rep. Ed Weber (R-OH)
Rep. Albert Wynn (D-MD)
Rep. Bill Zeliff (R-NH)

SOURCE Campaign to Fix the Debt