Forty Governors Declare Feb. 6 "Ronald Reagan Day"

Feb 05, 2013, 17:55 ET from Ronald Reagan Legacy Project

In honor of President Reagan's 102nd birthday, a record number of governors declare "Ronald Reagan Day" in their states

WASHINGTON, Feb. 5, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Each year the Ronald Reagan Legacy Project asks governors from all 50 states to issue a proclamation declaring Feb. 6 "Ronald Reagan Day" in their respective states. Today, the Ronald Reagan Legacy Project proudly commends the 40 governors -- Republicans and Democrats alike -- who have chosen to honor President Reagan's 102nd birthday.

"Ronald Reagan led America forward to defeat the threats to our prosperity of high taxes, inflation, and recession at home and a surging Soviet Empire abroad.  He left America stronger, freer, and safer than the day he became President," said Grover Norquist, founder and chairman of the project.

Founded in 1997, the project works to encourage the naming of landmarks, buildings, and roads after President Reagan. Currently there are 108 domestic dedications in 28 states, and 14 international dedications in seven countries.

Examples of domestic dedications include the Reagan Elementary School in Omaha, the Ronald Reagan Cross County Highway in Cincinnati, and even a Reagan bust located in a McDonald's – the Ronald Reagan Memorial Bust in Northport, Alabama.

In Nevada, the Mount Reagan Project is leading an effort to name a mountain in honor of the late president.   

Recent international dedications include a statue in London, a statue in Budapest, and a statue in Warsaw.

All 30 GOP governors are issuing proclamations, as well as nine Democratic governors and one independent governor – Rhode Island's Lincoln Chafee.  Eight Democratic governors have refused to issue proclamations (including Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear and Massachusetts Gov. Deval Patrick) and two Democratic governors have yet to make a decision (Connecticut Gov. Dannel Malloy and Washington Gov. Jay Inslee).

The 40 governors issuing proclamations declaring Ronald Reagan Day in their states:

AlabamaRobert Bentley (R)
AlaskaSean Parnell (R)
ArizonaJanice Brewer (R)
CaliforniaJerry Brown (D)
ColoradoJohn Hickenlooper (D)
FloridaRick Scott (R)
GeorgiaNathan Deal (R)
IdahoButch Otter (R)
IllinoisPat Quinn (D)
IndianaMike Pence (R)
IowaTerry Branstad (R)
Kansas – Sam Brownback (R)
LouisianaBobby Jindal (R)
MainePaul LePage (R)
Maryland – Martin O'Malley (D)
MichiganRick Snyder (R)
MississippiPhil Bryant (R)
MissouriJay Nixon (D)
MontanaSteve Bullock (D)
NebraskaDave Heineman (R)
NevadaBrian Sandoval (R)
New HampshireMaggie Hassan (D)
New JerseyChris Christie (R)
New MexicoSusana Martinez (R)
New YorkAndrew Cuomo (D)
North CarolinaPat McCrory (R)
North DakotaJack Dalrymple (R)
OhioJohn Kasich (R)
OklahomaMary Fallin (R)
PennsylvaniaTom Corbett (R)
Rhode IslandLincoln Chafee (I)
South CarolinaNikki Haley (R)
South DakotaDennis Daugaard (R)
TennesseeBill Haslam (R)
TexasRick Perry (R)
UtahGary Herbert (R)
VirginiaBob McDonnell (R)
West VirginiaEarl Ray Tomblin (D)
WisconsinScott Walker (R)
WyomingMatt Mead (R)

The eight governors who have refused to issue a proclamation declaring Ronald Reagan Day in their states:

ArkansasMike Beebe (D)
DelawareJack Markell (D)
HawaiiNeil Abercrombie (D)
KentuckySteve Beshear (D)        
MassachusettsDeval Patrick (D)
MinnesotaMark Dayton (D)
OregonJohn Kitzhaber (D)
VermontPeter Shumlin (D)

The two governors who have not yet decided whether or not to issue a proclamation declaring Ronald Reagan Day in their states:

ConnecticutDannel Malloy (D)
WashingtonJay Inslee (D)

Additional information can be found at

The Ronald Reagan Legacy Project, an affiliate of Americans for Tax Reform, is committed to preserving the legacy of the 40th President of the United States. Please contact John Kartch at 202-785-0266 or

SOURCE Ronald Reagan Legacy Project