Grupo Salinas Founder and Chairman Ricardo Salinas Pliego Joins Visitors Board of Georgetown University's School of Foreign Service

Oct 14, 2010, 13:35 ET from Grupo Salinas from ,Ricardo Salinas

WASHINGTON, Oct. 14 /PRNewswire/ -- Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate, is pleased to announce the appointment of its Founder and Chairman Ricardo B. Salinas Pliego (www.ricardosalinas.com) to the Visitors Board of Georgetown University's School of Foreign Service.

The Board of Visitors is composed of high-profile individuals who advise the Dean of the School of Foreign Service (SFS) on matters of vision and policy for the School.  Mr. Salinas is the first member of Latin American origin to sit on the board.

"We are very pleased to have Ricardo Salinas on the Board, since he provides a good business sense and a Latin American perspective that helps us with our efforts to maintain a global vision of the educational challenges of the future," said SFS Dean Carol Lancaster.

"We are delighted that Ricardo Salinas has joined the Board of Visitors.  He will provide a strong voice for Latin American and Mexican issues and will strengthen the School of Foreign Service's focus on the region," said Erick D. Langer, Director of the Center for Latin American Studies.

"I am honored to serve on the Board of Visitors for Georgetown University's School of Foreign Service.  Being the first board member from Latin America, I hope to provide insight into the economical, social and political issues facing the region, and continue to grow and strengthen this prestigious institution," said Ricardo Salinas.

Company Profile

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx ; www.irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

International Press Contact: Daniel McCosh; (5255) 1720-0059; dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mx

SOURCE Grupo Salinas; Ricardo Salinas



RELATED LINKS

http://www.gruposalinas.com


http://www.ricardosalinas.com