Harold L. Paz Named Board Chair Of The Association Of Academic Health Centers

Sep 30, 2013, 11:13 ET from Association of Academic Health Centers

WASHINGTON, Sept. 30, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Harold L. Paz, MD, MS, chief executive officer, Penn State Hershey Medical Center and Health System, Penn State's senior vice president for health affairs, and dean of Penn State College of Medicine, was elected chair of the board of directors of the Association of Academic Health Centers (AAHC) at its annual meeting held September 25-27 in Boston. An expert in critical care clinical outcomes, health system design, and healthcare policy, Dr. Paz oversees the academic, research, and clinical missions of Penn State Hershey Medical Center and Health System and College of Medicine where he is professor of internal medicine and public health sciences. 

"Dr. Paz is an outstanding leader and advocate who understands the vital role academic health centers must and will play in the economy and wellbeing of our nation," noted Dr. Steven A. Wartman, AAHC president and CEO.  "I very much look forward to working with him and the AAHC Board as we continue to develop groundbreaking initiatives within a transforming healthcare system."

During his tenure at Penn State Hershey, Dr. Paz initiated a major expansion of the Medical Center and the formation of the Penn State Hershey Health System, which includes four hospitals, 62 ambulatory care practices, 17 affiliated hospitals, and a new regional medical campus. Serving on numerous national professional boards and the recipient of many awards, including the Sir William Osler Humanitarian Award from the American Lung Association of New Jersey, Dr. Paz remains clinically active with a special interest in patients with sarcoidosis.

Raymond S. Greenberg, MD, PhD, executive vice chancellor for health affairs, The University of Texas System, was elected to the position of chair-elect of the AAHC Board. Recognized for his research on cancer, Dr. Greenberg has served on numerous national, professional, and scientific advisory boards. Prior to assuming his current position, Dr. Greenberg served as president of the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) where a principal point of emphasis was building collaborative efforts such as a statewide partnership involving research universities and teaching hospitals, a health information exchange for all Charleston-area hospitals focused on sharing data between emergency departments, and alliances in bioengineering and among other disciplines. His prior leadership experience includes serving as the vice president for academic affairs and provost at MUSC, and earlier as the deputy director of the Winship Cancer Center and founding dean of the Rollins School of Public Health, both at Emory University.

Newly elected to the board for three-year terms are: Jeffrey R. Balser, MD, PhD, vice chancellor for health affairs, dean, School of Medicine, Vanderbilt University; and Vivian S. Lee, MD, PhD, MBA, senior vice president for health sciences and dean, School of Medicine, CEO of University of Utah Health Care, University of Utah Health Sciences Center. Elected for a one-year term is Robert J. Alpern, MD, dean, School of Medicine, Yale University.

The AAHC is a non-profit association dedicated to advancing the nation's health and well-being through the vigorous leadership of academic health centers.

SOURCE Association of Academic Health Centers