Honorable Mentions Announced in International Writers of the Future Contest

4TH Quarter Honorable Mentions represent entrants from 27 US states and 9 countries

Jan 11, 2010, 13:20 ET from Writers and Illustrators of the Future

HOLLYWOOD, Calif., Jan. 11 /PRNewswire/ -- The 4th Quarter Honorable Mentions of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest were announced today by Joni Labaqui, the contest Director.

Stories that received Honorable Mention status will not go on for final judging but were good enough to merit acknowledgement for being well written. "We felt it was important to acknowledge contestants who have the talent, but didn't quite make the semi-finalist or finalist category," contest coordinating judge K.D. Wentworth stated.

"Out of the thousands of stories that get submitted to the contest, a small percentage make it this far," Wentworth continued. "Past Honorable Mention stories have gone on to see publication elsewhere. That is how competitive this contest is. The contest quality of submissions is the best of the best."


    Z.S. Adani - Florida
    Rigel Ailur - Pennsylvania
    Dave Anderson - Oregon
    Brenna Asplund - Utah
    Wayne Austin - Australia
    Aaron Bilodeau - Indiana
    Hilary B. Bisenieks - Pennsylvania
    L.C. Booth - England
    Avey Cahill - Florida
    Tracy Canfield - Indiana
    Ami Chopine - Utah
    John Chu - Massachusetts
    Jared Collins - New York
    Renee Collins - Colorado
    Marie Croke - Maryland
    Daemon Crowe - Massachusetts

    Scott Davis - Massachusetts
    David D'Amico - Massachusetts
    M.C. DeMarco - Massachusetts
    Christine M. Doering - New York
    Dave Dunn - Florida
    James Fitzsimmons - California
    Anthony George - Colorado
    Rob Haines - Wales, United Kingdom
    Andrew Heard - Washington
    Louise Herring-Jones - Alabama
    Erik Alexander Hill - California
    Ken Hoover - New Mexico
    Adam Israel - Canada
    Patty Jansen - Australia
    Kristin Janz - Massachusetts
    K.G. Jewell - Texas
    Vincent Jorgensen - California
    Christopher Kastensmidt - Brazil
    Corry Lee - Washington
    Christine Lucas - Greece
    Cheryl McCreary - South Carolina
    Scott Mikula - Washington
    David Miles - South Africa
    Jeremiah Monk - Illinois
    Marjorie Montague - Oklahoma
    Valerie Muller - Virginia
    Damien Navillus - Arkansas
    J.H. Norris - Louisiana
    Lawrence Martin Nysschens - California
    Rick Novy - Arizona
    Kat Otis - Virginia
    J.M. Peltier - Utah
    David Sklar - New Jersey
    Daniel Smyth - Utah
    Chris Tissell - Oregon
    Pam Wallace - California
    William Wood - Virginia

Well-known contest judges include multiple Nebula and Hugo Award winners and finalists such as Kevin J. Anderson, Orson Scott Card, Anne McCaffrey, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Robert J. Sawyer, Robert Silverberg, Dave Wolverton, Sean Williams and K.D. Wentworth.

"The chance of being published in the publishing industry, is much, much smaller," Labaqui said. "Only three out of every 10,000 manuscripts submitted in the United States each year get published - 1,800 are science fiction and fantasy novels - and most of them are written by established authors. The odds increase dramatically if you live in a foreign country, where publishers are rare or non-existent. This is one very effective way to get in the door for the newcomer."

For more information about the contest, go to www.writersofthefuture.com.

SOURCE Writers and Illustrators of the Future