Hoosier Educators honored by The Indiana American Legion

Jul 15, 2013, 15:21 ET from American Legion Department of Indiana

INDIANAPOLIS, July 15, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Two educators from Ft. Wayne and Cedar Lake were honored by the Indiana Department of The American Legion during its 95th Annual State Convention Saturday, 13 July.

Each year, the Indiana Department of The American Legion honors educators who are recognized by their communities and their peers as exemplifying the qualities of a premier educator. The awards are broken into two different categories.  Kindergarten through the 6th grade and 7-12.

The educators nominated for each category are:

Brandie Muha, Principal – Lincoln Elementary, Cedar Lake, IN
Kim Cunningham, 1st Grade Teacher – Northwestern Elementary, Kokomo, IN
Denise Crawford, Teacher Title 1/Literacy/RTI – Switzerland County Elementary School

Andrew M. Whirrett, 8th Grade English and History and Athletic Director – St. Paul's Lutheran School, Ft. Wayne, IN
Bonnie Pettay, of Kokomo, IN
William VanHooks Jr., of Evansville, IN
Leah Morgan, Art Education and High Ability Coordinator, Community Schools, Orleans IN

The Department's winners each received a $500 grant to their school from The American Legion in recognition of the winner's long commitment to education and to the young people of Indiana.

The overall winners for each category were Brandie Muha (K-6) and Andrew Whirrett (7-12).  Brandie Muha, in her acceptance speech, said, "It is an honor to be recognized by you today and I must also thank you for everything you (as veterans) have done for our country as well.  If I can instill in my young students the pride and passion that I see in you, then I have done my job."

Nick Nicholoff, Chairman of the Legion's Children and Youth Commission added, "Young people, and those who steward their development and growth, are the keys to our future and I am very proud to be part of an organization that so fully supports the interest of young people."

Point of contact at this organization is Bruce Drake, Communications Director, Indiana Department of The American Legion.

SOURCE American Legion Department of Indiana