IEEE Fellow Who Contributed to Manned Apollo Space Program to Receive IEEE-USA's Highest Honor; One of 16 Awardees

Dec 10, 2015, 13:06 ET from IEEE-USA

WASHINGTON, Dec. 10, 2015 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Dr. Arthur Winston, who served as IEEE president in 2004, will receive the Robert S. Walleigh Distinguished Contributions to Engineering Professionalism Award, IEEE-USA's highest honor.

Photo -

Winston is being recognized "for leadership through innovation, mentoring and promoting engineering management and entrepreneurial practices, as well as the creation of new policies of national interest."

He and other IEEE members will be honored during the joint IEEE Region 4 and 6 meeting at the Excalibur Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas on 30 January 2016.

Winston was elected an IEEE Fellow in 1991 for developing the NASA Apollo Heat Shield Re-entry Temperature Measurement System, which monitored the heat shield that protected the command module upon return to the earth's atmosphere. He also developed and implemented a worldwide nuclear test monitoring system that allowed the United States to participate in the Strategic Arms Limitation Talks (SALT).

Winston is director emeritus of the Tufts University Gordon Institute in Medford, Mass., the first educational institution designed specifically to develop engineering leaders. In 2007, he and two colleagues received the $500,000 Gordon Prize from the National Academy of Engineering "for the development of a multi-disciplinary graduate program for engineering professionals who have the potential and the desire to be engineering leaders."

As a past IEEE Educational Activities Board (EAB) vice president, Winston extended EAB interests to include pre-university education and played a key role in the development of the engineering career resources Website, He is credited for bringing together for the first time deans of education and deans of engineering. In 2010, he received the EAB Meritorious Service Citation.

Among his industry experiences are tenures at Bell Telephone Co. in Canada, the U.S. National Research Corp., Canada's National Research Council and the Allied Research Corp., now a part of Boeing. He is an expert in the fields of instrumentation and measurement.

The Walleigh Award

The Robert S. Walleigh Distinguished Contributions to Engineering Professionalism Award is designed "to honor members of the engineering profession for long-term dedicated effort and outstanding accomplishments in advancing the aims of IEEE professional activities in the United States."

Robert S. Walleigh was an electrical engineer and IEEE member who worked for the National Bureau of Standards – now the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) – for more than 35 years. He supervised the building of NIST headquarters in Gaithersburg, Md., and retired as a senior adviser for international affairs in 1979. For the next 18 years he worked as an IEEE-USA senior specialist.

Winston is one of 16 people IEEE-USA will recognize for their professionalism and technical achievements. The other award recipients are:

Award for Distinguished Public Service

The Honorable Richard Durbin
In recognition of his commitment to promoting and protecting America's science and technology workforce

George F. McClure Citation of Honor

Dr. David Edward Flinchbaugh
In recognition of his passionate promotion of the engineering profession and his sustained community outreach through science and technology programs

Ron D. Katznelson
For his commitment to educate members and policymakers about the value of patents and intellectual property

Jim Watson Student Professional Awareness Achievement Award

Albert J. Rosa
For developing tomorrow's engineering leaders by engaging them in activities directed at organizing and leading IEEE-USA Student Professional Awareness Conferences

K-12 STEM Literacy Committee Educator-Engineer Partnership Award

Gary D. Bishop (Engineer) and Shannon Haas (Educator)
For outstanding dedication to furthering teamwork, time management, critical thinking and interpersonal skills for junior high school students through the Future City Competition

Entrepreneur Achievement Award for Leadership in Entrepreneurial Spirit

Brett Glass
In recognition of excellence in entrepreneurship and contributions as a writer, speaker and founder of LARIAT, a community wireless broadband Internet service provider

Award for Distinguished Literary Contributions Furthering Public Understanding  and the Advancement of the Engineering Profession

Amy Bix
For contributions to understanding diversity in the engineering profession through a body of scholarly work including "Girls Coming To Tech: A History of American Engineering Education for Women"

Professional Achievement Award for Individuals

Robert Adelson, Esq.
For sustained dedication and contributions to the IEEE entrepreneurial community

Mike Davis
In recognition of professional and educational contributions in the field of cybersecurity

R. Joe Stanley
For sustained contributions to pre-university engineering education

Regional Professional Leadership Award

Christella Chavez
For outstanding leadership efforts in advancing the professional aims of IEEE in Region 5, specifically in revitalizing the Tulsa Section

Greg Gdowski
For demonstrated leadership efforts in advancing the professional aims of IEEE in Region 1, specifically in revitalizing the Rochester Section and the photonics community

Nathalie Gosset
For exemplary leadership of the Buenaventura Section promoting innovative programs and member engagement

Russ Meier
For his efforts in promoting educational and professional activities in Region 4 as well as his successful management of the 2015 IEEE-USA Annual Meeting / Great Lakes Biomedical Conference


IEEE-USA awards are approved by the organization's board of directors. For additional information, go to

IEEE-USA serves the public good and promotes the careers and public policy interests of nearly 200,000 engineering, computing and technology professionals who are U.S. members of IEEE.  

Benefits of IEEE membership:  

Logo -