Introducing the Taxpayers' Twenty: Political Action Arm of Nation's Largest Taxpayer Group Backs Slate of Trail-Blazing Candidates

Oct 19, 2010, 17:34 ET from National Taxpayers Union Campaign Fund

ALEXANDRIA, Va., Oct. 19 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Amid hundreds of Congressional candidates claiming to carry the mantle of reformers, the political action arm of the nation's largest taxpayer group has chosen 20 hopefuls whose election would signal a new era of leadership to put Congress back on the path to limited government and fiscal responsibility. The National Taxpayers Union Campaign Fund (NTUCF) today announced these endorsements in 15 House and five Senate races, which it calls the "Taxpayers' Twenty."

"The members of the Taxpayers' Twenty have been selected because of their potential to dramatically change the composition and leadership style of Congress, and in so doing change the direction of fiscal policy," NTUCF President Duane Parde said. "Although NTUCF will make other endorsements, the Taxpayers' Twenty are the ones to watch when it comes to making Washington, D.C. a place where the people who pay government's bills are back in charge."

Five members of the Taxpayers' Twenty are in competitive Senate races: Ken Buck (CO), Marco Rubio (FL), Sharron Angle (NV), Pat Toomey (PA), and Ron Johnson (WI). "Fiscal conservatives are of particular importance in the Senate, and these five would completely shift the focus of policymaking," Parde observed. "Their election would go a long way toward keeping big government schemes from reaching the President's desk."

Fifteen members of the "Taxpayers' Twenty" are running for the U.S. House of Representatives: Cory Gardner (CO-04), Daniel Webster (FL-08), Sandy Adams (FL-24), Brad Zaun (IA-03), Andy Harris (MD-01), Justin Amash (MI-03), Ed Martin (MO-03), Joe Heck (NV-03), Steve Chabot (OH-01), Jim Renacci (OH-16),  Scott Bruun (OR-05), Bill Flores (TX-17), Quico Canseco (TX-23), Keith Fimian (VA-11),  and Sean Duffy (WI-07).

"A number of other candidates deserve election this fall, and NTUCF is here to support them as well," Parde concluded. "By sending the Taxpayers' Twenty to Washington, voters will be sending a strong message for limited government that will echo loudly throughout the halls of the 112th Congress."

Note: NTUCF is the political action arm of the National Taxpayers Union (NTU), the nation's largest grassroots taxpayer organization. NTU, founded in 1969, created the NTU Campaign Fund in 1994. Endorsement decisions by NTUCF require a unanimous vote on a nonpartisan basis by a four-member committee.

SOURCE National Taxpayers Union Campaign Fund