LA Dodgers Hall of Famer Tommy Lasorda to Receive "Great Ones" Award from Jim Murray Memorial Foundation

Award will be presented at Santa Anita Park on October 24th during the JMMF?s "Day at the Races/Monte Carlo Night" event

Aug 27, 2015, 17:46 ET from Jim Murray Memorial Foundation

PASADENA, Calif., Aug. 27, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- On October 24th, Tommy Lasorda, baseball executive and ambassador best known for his two decades as manager of the Los Angeles Dodgers, will officially have his name affixed to one of his idols when his name is inscribed upon the Jim Murray Memorial Foundationʼs "Great Ones" trophy, a bronze bust of Pulitzer Prize winner, Jim Murray.

Lasorda, who managed the Los Angeles Dodgers from 1976-1996, will be presented the Award for his meritorious career of more than sixty years in the Dodgersʼ organization. Previous winners include "Great Ones" Arnold Palmer, Joe Namath, Luc Robitaille, Bobby Rahal, Chris McCarron, Duke Snider, Sugar Ray Leonard, and Hall of Fame sports journalist Rick Reilly.

"The Great Ones Award is our Stanley Cup. Each year we add a new name to it for that individualʼs contribution to his sport," said Bill McCoy, president of the Jim Murray Memorial Foundation (JMMF). "Tommy Lasorda and Jim Murray were friends for many years. It seems fitting we honored both their legacies with this award."

The Jim Murray Memorial Foundation (JMMF) was established by Linda Murray Hofmans in 1999 following the death of her husband, Jim Murray, longtime Los Angeles Times sportswriter, winner of the 1990 Pulitzer Prize for Commentary, and 1988 Cooperstown Hall of Fame inductee. The JMMF awards journalism scholarships to the nation's top college journalists through a national essay competition.

To date, the JMMF has awarded 99 scholarships totaling over $500,000. Thirty-one (31) colleges and universities across the United States participate in the competition. Six 2015 Murray Scholars from Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis, Northwestern University, Penn State University, University of Georgia, University of Kansas and University of Missouri will be honored at the October 24th JMMF Day at the Races & Monte Carlo Night event at Santa Anita Racetrack.


SOURCE Jim Murray Memorial Foundation