Local High School Student Honored in Nation’s Capital as Part of National Jefferson Awards Ceremonies

Katharine Foronda was recognized among 10 Jefferson Award Youth Superstars from around the country

Jun 21, 2010, 20:38 ET from Communities In Schools of Nevada

WASHINGTON, June 21 /PRNewswire/ -- In celebration of their extraordinary contributions to their school and their work within the community, the Jefferson Awards honored Katharine Foronda as a Jefferson Award Youth Superstars at a Washington, D.C. awards dinner. Katharine Foronda was honored for creating the School Resource Center at her high school. She enrolled classmates to help. On Tuesdays and Thursdays the team provides mentors and tutors in math, English and science; they also help with computer training and job information. The goal is to decrease the dropout rate at her school.

Known as the "Nobel Prize for public service," the Jefferson Awards are presented each year over two days of ceremonies in the nation's capital where a broad array of honorees are recognized – from high-profile individuals who have dedicated the better part of their lives to public service to celebrated professional athletes to largely unheralded community-based volunteers. Also recognized are organizations and companies that represent the pinnacle in corporate citizenship and high schools that best reflect the Jeffersonian ideals of citizen involvement.

This year's National Winners include New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg, Newark Mayor Cory A. Booker, Partners in Health founder Paul Farmer, M.D., Goodwill Industries International President/CEO Jim Gibbons and Tad Skylar Agoglia, the founder of The First Response Team of America.  Also recognized for their community involvement are two professional athletes: Oakland Raiders cornerback Nnamdi Asomugha and Charlotte Bobcats' Tyrus Thomas.  

"For almost four decades, the Jefferson Awards have celebrated the best in public service," said Sam Beard, founder and president of the American Institute for Public Service and The Jefferson Awards.  "While we have been pleased to honor many prominent individuals over the years who have given back selflessly to their communities and the world around them, we are particularly excited about honoring tonight these exceptional high school students because they are tomorrow's national leaders.  On behalf of the Jefferson Awards, a collective thanks and congratulations."

The dinner took place at the Mayflower Hotel.  It was hosted by Robert Sakowitz, who also is a Jefferson Awards board member.  

About The Jefferson Awards

Co-founded in 1973 by Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, U.S. Senator Robert Taft Jr. and Sam Beard, The Jefferson Awards annually celebrate America's commitment to public service.  Recognizing both the famous and the unknown, individuals and organizations, the young and old, the awards reflect one of the founding ideals of our nation, that of contributing toward the larger good.  As Thomas Jefferson himself wrote, "Private charities as well as contributions to public purposes in proportion to everyone's circumstances are certainly among the duties we owe to society."

The Jefferson Award recipients are nominated from throughout the country and selected by the organization's board of directors, who include Hank Aaron, the Hon. Julian Bond, Cris Collinsworth, Michael Douglas, Whoopi Goldberg, the Hon. Mitch McConnell, the Hon. Harry Reid, Neil Simon, Leslie Stahl and Kathleen Kennedy Townsend.  Honorees are chosen on the basis of two main criteria: the outstanding nature of the acts of service and the impact on the community of those acts.  Past recipients of the award include Lance Armstrong, Hubert Humphrey, Dr. C. Everett Koop, General Colin Powell and Justice Sandra Day O'Connor.  

For more information on The Jefferson Awards, visit www.JeffersonAwards.org.

SOURCE Communities In Schools of Nevada