Media General Holds Annual Meeting of Stockholders

Apr 26, 2012, 12:14 ET from Media General, Inc.

RICHMOND, Va., April 26, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- Media General, Inc. (NYSE: MEG) said today that shareholders at the company's 2012 Annual Meeting re-elected nine directors to one-year terms: J. Stewart Bryan III, chairman; Scott D. Anthony,  Diana F. Cantor, Dennis J. FitzSimons, Marshall N. Morton, Thompson L. Rankin, Rodney A. Smolla, Carl S. Thigpen and Coleman Wortham III. The meeting was held in Richmond.

At the meeting, Marshall N. Morton, president and chief executive officer, reported on the state of the company.  A copy of the full report is posted on the company's website in the Investor Relations section under Presentations.

About Media General

Media General is a leading provider of news, information and entertainment across multiple media platforms, serving consumers and advertisers in strong local markets, primarily in the Southeastern United States. The company is transforming itself over time to a digital media model, while continuing to effectively manage its larger, cash producing broadcast television and print platforms. Media General's operations are organized in five geographic market segments and a sixth segment that includes the company's interactive advertising services and certain other operations. The company's operations include 18 network-affiliated television stations and their associated websites and 23 newspapers and their associated websites. Media General operates three digital media advertising services companies:  Blockdot, a specialty digital agency;, a shopping website; and NetInformer, a wireless marketing services provider.

SOURCE Media General, Inc.