Motor Press Guild Announces Its Five Finalists for First-Ever MPG Vehicle of the Year Award

Oct 04, 2011, 08:00 ET from Motor Press Guild

LOS ANGELES, Oct. 4, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- Motor Press Guild (MPG), the largest automotive media association in North America, today announced the top five finalists for its first Motor Press Guild Vehicle of the Year (VOTY) Award. Finalists were chosen by a panel of 18 MPG journalist members who drive and review new vehicles on a regular basis. All MPG journalist members will evaluate the final five vehicles and vote on the winner at the organization's annual Track Day event October 11-12, 2011.

The Motor Press Guild Vehicle of the Year Finalists (in alphabetical order):

Eligible vehicles must be all-new or substantially changed for calendar year 2011 and available at dealerships on or before January 1, 2012. In addition, MPG members are encouraged to select vehicles that represent the unique Southern California marketplace. The winner of the 2011 Motor Press Guild Vehicle of the Year will be announced during the Los Angeles International Auto Show Press Days on Nov. 16-17, 2011.

"We're proud of the top five cars nominated by our MPG jury," said Laura Burstein, Motor Press Guild President and VOTY panelist. "Not only are these finalists excellent vehicles overall, they represent a variety of segments and price points -- and they show a little So-Cal flair, too. Any of these vehicles would be worthy of the VOTY award."

The MPG VOTY award recognizes the most dynamic new vehicle of the calendar year as judged by Motor Press Guild journalist membership. Vehicles are benchmarked against the competitive segment and evaluated on safety, quality, value, performance, handling, design, style, environmental impact and technology and innovation. The Southern California-based MPG award is expected to reflect the distinctive style, tastes and needs of this influential region.


The Los Angeles-based Motor Press Guild (MPG) is the largest automotive media association in North America with more than 700 members. This non-profit trade guild is dedicated to promoting professionalism in automotive journalism through education and information exchange. Members include journalists from print, broadcast, and online outlets as well as public relations representatives, consumer groups and governmental bodies tied to the automotive industry. The organization hosts regular meetings featuring key figureheads in the auto industry and is widely recognized for its annual Dean Batchelor Award program and annual industry MPG Track Day.

For more information on the Motor Press Guild, please visit our website (, Facebook page or Twitter feed (@MotorPressGuild). For media inquiries please contact MPG Publicity Chair Mike Caudill at 951-719-1040 or

SOURCE Motor Press Guild