NASA Federal Credit Union Awards Scholarships to Area Students

Jun 02, 2011, 19:52 ET from NASA Federal Credit Union

UPPER MARLBORO, Md., June 2, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- NASA Federal Credit Union announced today the recipients of the 2011 Mitchell-Beall-Rosen Memorial Scholarship Contest. Seven local high school students were awarded scholarships ranging from $1,000 to the top prize of $7,000. The annual Mitchell-Beall-Rosen program rewards the writing talent and academic endeavors of young credit union members who are working toward a four-year or two-year undergraduate degree or vocational studies.

"NASA Federal Credit Union is proud to acknowledge the success and potential of such outstanding students – all of whom are preparing for the next step in their education path," said Frank Penaranda, chairman of the scholarship committee and vice chairman of the Board of Directors of NASA Federal Credit Union. This year's scholarship winners will be attending universities and colleges such as the University of Maryland, New York University, Lehigh University and American University.

The following outstanding seniors were recipients of this year's scholarship awards:

  • Andrew Johns, Eldersburg, MD, (will be attending New York University)
  • Alyssa Kniseley, Crofton, MD, (will be attending Towson University)
  • Alex Musliner, Crofton, MD, (will be attending Lehigh University)
  • April Kelly, Queenstown, MD, (will be attending James Madison University)
  • Danielle Beard, Crofton, MD, (will be attending American University)
  • Thomas Friel, Davidsonville, MD, (will be attending University of Maryland, College Park)
  • Claire McGrath, Laurel, MD, (will be attending Mount St. Mary's University)

About the NASA Federal Credit Union Scholarship Program
The Scholarship Program was established in 1983 in memory of Wilfred Mitchell and Donald Beall, both former NASA Federal Credit Union presidents. In 2010, the name of the scholarship award was changed to the Mitchell-Beall-Rosen Memorial Scholarship Program in honor of Eugene D. Rosen who was instrumental in launching the program and served as its chairman for 27 years. Mitchell, Beall and Rosen are fondly remembered for their commitment to the credit union movement and especially for their efforts to help young people succeed.

About NASA Federal Credit Union
NASA Federal Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial cooperative owned entirely by its members and operated for the benefit of all who belong. Chartered in 1949, NASA Federal Credit Union serves the diverse needs of 77,000 members with a full array of financial services and the strength of more than $1 billion in assets

SOURCE NASA Federal Credit Union