NASA Federal Credit Union Awards Scholarships to Area Students

May 30, 2013, 14:18 ET from NASA Federal Credit Union

UPPER MARLBORO, Md., May 30, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- At the conclusion of its 2013 Mitchell-Beall-Rosen Memorial Scholarship Contest, NASA Federal Credit Union awarded scholarships—ranging from $1,000 to the top prize of $7,000—to seven high school seniors. The annual program rewards the writing talent and academic endeavors of young Credit Union members who are working toward four-year or two-year undergraduate degrees or vocational studies.



"As a not-for-profit financial cooperative, NASA FCU's core purpose is to empower people to achieve brighter financial futures, and we're delighted to be able to do that for our young members through the Mitchell-Beall-Rosen Memorial Scholarship," said Frank Penaranda, Chairman of NASA FCU's Scholarship Committee and Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors. "The Scholarship, now in its 30th year, has provided nearly $390,000 to over 150 recipients. We are proud to support another group of promising individuals this year as they embark on their educational goals." 

The following outstanding seniors were recipients of this year's Scholarship awards:

  • Alexandra Berges of Ellicott City, Maryland—Graduated from Marriotts Ridge High School, will attend Johns Hopkins University, and will pursue a career in Bioengineering upon graduation.
  • Ian Duffy of Laurel, Maryland—Attended Atholton High School and is entering Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University to study Civil Engineering with a focus on Bridge Construction.  
  • Courtney Jones of Glenarden, Maryland—Attended DuVal High School and plans to pursue a career in Media Production after attending Stevenson University.
  • Taylor Reeves of Rockville, Maryland—Graduated from the Academy of the Holy Cross and plans to work in Advertising after receiving her undergraduate degree in Marketing and Advertising from St. John's University.
  • Sophie Roytblat of Rockville, Maryland—Graduated from Walter Johnson High School and will attend New York University to major in Global Public Health, as well as fulfill Pre-Med requirements.
  • Robert Stancil, III of Pocomoke, Maryland—Attended Pocomoke High School and plans to work in Computer Science after receiving his undergraduate and graduate degrees from Salisbury University.
  • Eric Sturm of Columbia, Maryland—Attended Long Reach High School, is entering the University of Michigan and, upon graduation, will pursue a career in Naval Architecture or Marine Engineering to help improve the design of boats.

About the NASA Federal Credit Union Scholarship Program
The Scholarship Program was established in 1983 in memory of Wilfred Mitchell and then renamed in 1991 to also honor Donald Beall. Both men are former NASA Federal Credit Union officials who were strong advocates of the education of our youth. In 2010, the name of the Scholarship Program was again changed, to the Mitchell-Beall-Rosen Memorial Scholarship Program, in honor of Eugene D. Rosen, who was instrumental in launching the program and served as its Chairman for 27 years. Mitchell, Beall and Rosen are fondly remembered for their commitment to the Credit Union movement and especially for their efforts to help young people succeed.

About NASA Federal Credit Union
NASA Federal Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial cooperative owned entirely by its members and operated for the benefit of all who belong. Chartered in 1949, NASA Federal Credit Union serves the diverse needs of over 85,000 members with a full array of financial services and the strength of more than $1.2 billion in assets.  NASA FCU has been recognized by Kiplinger Finance as one of the seven best credit unions anyone can join.  

SOURCE NASA Federal Credit Union