NASA Federal Credit Union Awards Scholarships to Area Students

Jun 08, 2010, 14:42 ET from NASA Federal Credit Union

UPPER MARLBORO, Md., June 8 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- At the conclusion of the 2010 Mitchell-Beall Memorial Scholarship Contest, NASA Federal Credit Union awarded scholarships ranging from $1,000 to the top prize of $7,000 to nine high school seniors. The annual program rewards the academic endeavors of young Credit Union members who are working toward a four-year or two-year undergraduate degree or vocational studies.

"NASA Federal Credit Union is proud to acknowledge the success and potential of such outstanding students – all of whom are preparing for the next step in their education path," said Frank Penaranda, Chairman of the Scholarship Committee and Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors of NASA Federal Credit Union.  This year's scholarship winners will be attending universities and colleges throughout the country such as Brown University, Dartmouth College and the University of Arizona.

The following outstanding seniors were recipients of this year's scholarship awards:

  • David Christo, Glenn Dale, MD (St. Vincent Pallotti High School)
  • Elizabeth Cathey, Chincoteague, VA (Chincoteague High School)
  • Daniel Wang, Leesburg, VA (Thomas Jefferson High School)
  • Cortney McCoy, Fort Washington, MD (Oxon Hill High School)
  • Colleen Brenner, Painter, VA (Brenner Home School Academy)
  • Natalie Clagett, Accokeek, MD (Elizabeth Seton High School)
  • Gloria Lee, Burke, VA (Thomas Jefferson High School)
  • Katharine Jackson, Woodstock, MD (Marriotts Ridge High School)
  • Ursula Tooley, Greenbelt, MD (Eleanor Roosevelt High School)

About the NASA Federal Credit Union Scholarship Program

The Scholarship Program was established in 1983 in memory of Wilfred Mitchell and Donald Beall, both former NASA Federal Credit Union presidents. Mitchell and Beall are fondly remembered for their commitment to the Credit Union movement and especially for their efforts in helping young people succeed. "NASA Federal's Mitchell-Beall Scholarship Program is the largest and one of the longest running scholarship programs in the state of Maryland," said Mr. Michael Beall, President and CEO of the Maryland & District of Columbia Credit Union Association (MDDCCUA) and son of scholarship co-founder Donald Beall, "MDDCCUA is proud to highlight this incredible commitment of NASA Federal Credit Union to youth advancement."

About NASA Federal Credit Union

NASA Federal Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial cooperative owned entirely by its members and operated for the benefit of all who belong. Chartered in 1949, NASA Federal Credit Union serves the diverse needs of 74,000 members with a full array of financial services and the strength of more than $1 billion in assets.  

SOURCE NASA Federal Credit Union