National Inventors Hall of Fame Honors 2013 Inductees

Includes inventors of plasma display, modern synthesizer, cellular technology

May 02, 2013, 08:00 ET from National Inventors Hall of Fame

ALEXANDRIA, Va., May 2, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- The National Inventors Hall of Fame, dedicated to honoring the individuals who conceived, patented, and advanced the great technological achievements that have changed the world, has welcomed its 2013 class of Inductees.  The inventors honored this year created innovations that have had significant impact on our cultural and economic growth, including work that has enhanced our security and safety systems, advanced our research capabilities, broadened our communications abilities, and even furthered the success of the entertainment industry.  

Eight of the nine living inventors attended a formal Induction Ceremony that took place on the campus of the United States Patent and Trademark Office in Alexandria, VA.  The technologies represented included iris recognition, which allows for the fast and highly precise identification of individuals, the plasma display, which is known for its accurate color reproduction and high contrast ratio, and DSL which brings Internet access to large numbers of people.  Also recognized were the inventors of the CDMA technology used in cellular telephone networks, the optical trapping technique that permits the study of small particles by using laser light, and the Steadicam® camera stabilizer, a body-mounted stabilization device that allows camera operators to move freely while filming smooth shots.

The 2013 Inductees:

  • Samuel Alderson (1914-2005), Crash Test Dummy
  • Arthur Ashkin, Optical Trapping
  • John Birden (1918-2011) and Ken Jordan (1921-2008), Radioisotope Thermoelectric Generator, RTG
  • Donald Bitzer, Robert Willson, Gene Slottow (1921-1989), Plasma Display
  • Garrett Brown, Steadicam® Camera Stabilizer
  • John Daugman, Iris Recognition
  • Leonard Flom and Aran Safir (1926-2007), Iris Recognition 
  • Irwin Jacobs and Andrew Viterbi, CDMA Technology
  • Joseph Lechleider, DSL
  • Alfred Loomis (1887-1975), LORAN
  • Robert Moog (1934-2005), Moog Synthesizer
  • Grote Reber (1911-2002), Radio Telescope

As with the existing Inductees in the Hall of Fame, this year's group demonstrates how persistence and the creative drive can result in impactful inventions that shape the way we live our lives.  "I am honored to be included in this class of impressive inventors and join those previously honored," said Inductee Leonard Flom.  "I've always enjoyed solving problems and that has allowed me to have a rewarding career that I am still enjoying."  

The National Inventors Hall of Fame annually accepts nominations for men and women whose work has changed society and improved the quality of life.  The candidate's invention must be covered by a United States patent, and the work must have had a major impact on society, the public welfare, and the progress of science and the useful arts.

About the Hall of Fame
The National Inventors Hall of Fame is the premier non-profit organization in America dedicated to honoring legendary inventors whose innovations and entrepreneurial endeavors have changed the world.  Founded in 1973 by the United States Patent and Trademark Office and the National Council of Intellectual Property Law Association, the Hall of Fame has 487 Inductees with its 2013 Induction.   The National Inventors Hall of Fame and Museum is located in the atrium of the Madison Building on the campus of the United States Patent and Trademark Office, at 600 Dulany Street, Alexandria, VA.  Admission is free.  For more information on the National Inventors Hall of Fame, including Inductee nomination forms and a full listing of Inductees, please visit

SOURCE National Inventors Hall of Fame