Nick Jonas and Jordin Sparks Announced as Co-Chairs of the National Youth Leadership Committee of the Ronald Reagan Centennial Celebration

Aug 02, 2010, 12:00 ET from Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation and Library

38 Athletes, Entertainers, and Student Leaders Under Age 25 Inspired by President Reagan Will Honor the 100th Birthday of America's 40th President

LOS ANGELES, Aug. 2 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation announced today the formation of the National Youth Leadership Committee for the Ronald Reagan Centennial Celebration. Each of these 38 young athletes, entertainers, and student leaders has been inspired in a personal way by President Reagan's vision of freedom and the example of his leadership. Committee members will participate in the Ronald Reagan Centennial Celebration representing America's next generation of leaders.

"We need you. We need your youth. We need your strength. We need your idealism to help us make right that which is wrong," President Reagan declared on May 17, 1981, in a commencement address at the University of Notre Dame. "Each generation goes further than the generation preceding it because it stands on the shoulders of that generation. You will have opportunities beyond anything we've ever known."

Together, committee members have earned awards and accolades that include:

  • 18 Olympic Medals
  • 11 NCAA All-American Selections
  • 5   NCAA Championships
  • 2   NCAA Players of the Year
  • 2   Platinum Records
  • 1   Miss USA Crown

"Ronald Reagan is a personal hero of mine," said 18-year-old singer/songwriter Nick Jonas of the Jonas Brothers. "I admire the way he stood up for causes he believed were right, no matter what."

"Ronald Reagan's optimism and graciousness is a model for me in my career," said 20-year-old Grammy-nominated, Platinum recording artist Jordin Sparks. "I'm honored to be a part of this leadership committee and give back just a fraction of the blessings I've received."

Members of the National Youth Leadership Committee will participate in many of the Reagan Centennial activities sponsored by the Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation, including those found at

"Honoring President Reagan during his centennial year is a tremendous privilege and responsibility. I believe my generation can learn from a man who was able to accomplish so much while still respecting all opinions," said Brodi Conover, a student at Georgetown University and founder of Community Honor Flight. "We've lost that capacity in our civic discourse today. I want to emulate President Reagan's leadership to always respect others while maintaining convictions."

Genevieve Ryan, Princeton University student and former White House intern, said, "I'm touched to be a part of this stellar group. There was something special about President Reagan. Only a legacy as enduring as President Reagan's would have the power to inspire multiple generations."

Ronald Reagan believed in American exceptionalism. This group of Olympians, professional athletes, entertainers, sailors from the USS Ronald Reagan, and student leaders representing colleges and universities from across America is truly that: exceptional.

Members of National Youth Leadership Committee include:

Nathan Adrian, Swimmer, Olympic Gold Medalist & NCAA Champion

Marco Andretti, Indy Car Driver, 21 Career Top 10 Finishes

Terrence Austin, Football Player, Washington Redskins

Katie Black, Student, Pepperdine University

Ellie Castine, Student, University of Virginia

Peter Castine, Student, Miami University

J.R. Celski, Speed Skater, Olympic Medalist & Eight-Time World Champion

Oliver Cole, Navy Sailor, USS Ronald Reagan

Brodi Conover, Student, Georgetown University

Meryl Davis, Ice Dancer, Olympian & World Championship Silver Medalist

Rima Fakih, Miss USA 2010

Kendall Fisher, Student, Pepperdine University

Jimmer Fredette, Basketball Player, NCAA All-American  

Richie Gregory, Student, Eureka College

Katie Hoff, Swimmer, Two-Time Olympian & World Champion

Hillary Hurd, Student, University of Virginia

Nicole Johnson, Miss California USA 2010

Nick Jonas, Musician

J.W. Krumpholz, Water Polo Player, Olympian & 2009 NCAA National Player of the Year

Nastia Liukin, Gymnast, Five-Time Olympic Medalist

Colin Mansfield, Cadet, United States West Point Military Academy

Greg McElroy, Quarterback & 2009 National Champion, University of Alabama

Kelley O'Hara, Soccer Player, FC Gold Pride & 2009 NCAA National Player of the Year

Anna Maria Perez De Tangle, Actress, Model & Singer

Jordan Pruitt, Recording Artist

Katherine Reutter, Speed Skater, Two-Time Olympic Medalist & World Cup Champion

Colleen Delaney Rigby, Student, Georgetown University

Katelyn Rowan, Student, Eureka College

Genevieve Ryan, Student, Princeton University  

Alicia Sacramone, Gymnast, Olympic Medalist & World Champion

Ryan Sheckler, Skateboarder, X Games Gold Medalist & Drew Tour Athlete of the Year

Sharon Soileau, Navy Sailor, USS Ronald Reagan

Jordin Sparks, Musician

Hannah Teter, Snowboarder, Two-Time Olympian & X Games Gold Medalist

Charlie White, Ice Dancer, Olympian & Grand Prix Champion

David Will, Student, Princeton University

Bryon Wilson, Mogul Skier, Olympic Bronze Medalist

Ross Wilson, Baseball Player, Chicago White Sox Organization

Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation Centennial Celebration – is a historic two-year-long celebration to commemorate the 100th birthday of the 40th President of the United States of America, Ronald Reagan. Visit to learn more. The mission of the Reagan Presidential Foundation is to preserve and promote his legacy of inspired freedom.

SOURCE Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation and Library