NIRI San Diego Presents: 'Are They Coming for You? Best Practices in Managing Shareholder Activism'

Oct 26, 2010, 18:37 ET from National Investor Relations Institute San Diego Chapter

SAN DIEGO, Oct. 26 /PRNewswire/ -- The San Diego chapter of the National Investor Relations Institute (NIRI San Diego) will kick off its 2010-2011 program year this Thursday, October 28, 2010, with a lively panel discussion on one of today's hottest topics for IR professionals - the rise of shareholder activism.  

Though the financial crisis has significantly impacted the number of activist hedge funds, public companies are still being targeted and shareholder activism remains an important component of the corporate landscape.  Our expert panel will discuss the issues to consider when counseling Boards of Directors and management teams, with particular attention given to how companies should respond to demands for changes made by an activist shareholder.  Speakers include:

Matthew Sherman, Partner

Joele Frank, Wilkinson Brimmer Katcher


Marcea Lloyd, General Counsel

Amylin Pharma


Amy Bilbija, Senior Vice President

MacKenzie Partners



The session will also consider the role and responsibilities of the Investor Relations Officer when confronted with an activist investor and provide suggestions on how IROs can do their job most effectively. In addition, an overview of the 2009/2010 proxy season will be provided.

A networking reception will begin at 5:00 p.m., followed by the presentation from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. at Websense, 10240 Sorrento Valley Road, San Diego, CA 92121. The cost is $50 for members and $65 for non-members; please register by email at rsvp@nirisandiego.org . The cost on-site for walk-ins is $55 for members and $70 for non-members.  

About NIRI

Founded in 1969, the National Investor Relations Institute (NIRI) is a professional association of corporate officers and investor relations consultants responsible for communication among corporate management, the investing public and the financial community.  Professionals from related fields such as finance, corporate law, corporate communications, and public relations are invited to attend NIRI San Diego meetings and to join the chapter as members.  Information about upcoming programs can be found on the chapter's website at www.nirisandiego.org.  

For additional information, please contact any of the NIRI San Diego Chapter Board Members:

John Stoepler, President and Director- jstoepler@mentus.com

Marcy Graham, Vice President and Director- mgraham@genoptix.com

Cindy McGee, Secretary and Director- cmcgee@arenapharm.com

Kendra Berger, Treasurer and Director- kendra.berger@buzztime.com

Robin Mitchell, Membership Co-Chair & Director- robin_mitchell@cymer.com

Kate Patterson, Membership Co-Chair & Director- kpatterson@websense.com

Gwen Rosenberg, Communications Co-Chair & Director- gwen.rosenberg@senomyx.com

Sharon Johnson, Communications Co-Chair, Director, & Website- sharon.johnson@prnewswire.com

Jane Booth, Program Co-Chair & Director- jane.booth@prnewswire.com

Kirsten Garvin, Program Co-Chair & Director- kgarvin@astutenetworks.com



SOURCE National Investor Relations Institute San Diego Chapter



RELATED LINKS

http://www.nirisandiego.org